Sort:  

Most veggies and fruits can do good in containers. I even have my root vegetables like yacon, Jerusalem Artichokes and others growing in containers. I don’t think I ever came across something that wouldn’t grow in a container - although large plants need large containers.

The funny - no, ‘frustrating’ is a better word - thing is that I’m not running a single thing in the garden this year.
I’m still recovering from surgery and I can barely do anything. Fortunately, I have a good-hearted girlfriend. She doesn’t really like gardening, but she knows how important it is for me. Seeing all those plants grow really makes me happy. So actually she’s doing all the work, and I’m on the sideline giving instructions. And take loads of pictures, of course :0)

And one of the big benefits of nature is that once you put things in de ground and water them regularly, they do most of the work themselves. They don’t need any help to grow, except for some fertilizer every now and then.

Up until 2.5 years ago, I lived in the middle of a big city. No garden, only a small balcony. It didn’t take long before it was filled with pots with herbs and lettuce and stuff - there wasn’t any room left for us to sit down and relax.
That’s where I learned the basics.
Now I do have a lot of space in both the front-and the backyard, but still everything is in raised beds or in containers. I’m just saying: having to grow in pots or containers does not limit you to grow whatever you want.

If you only have limited space, just look for dwarf or miniature veggies. There are a lot of them these days. Miniature tomato bushes, dwarf cauliflowers, beans, mini carrots... you name it, it exists.
My mini belle chocolate pepper plants are carrying loads of small peppers while the plants are only 30 to 50 cm in height.

This was the first post I came across, but if you do a Google search, I bet you can find many more..,
http://balconygardenweb.com/8-dwarf-vegetables-grow-small-urban-garden/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29