You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Esteban starts nursery on Monday: please help me feel good about this!

in #school5 years ago

He's a beautiful child and of course you're worried about sending him to school! So happy that you found a doc that would sign off on the shot's. Here in the States you can sign a religious exemption, with the idea that if there's a breakout your kids can't attend. Fine.
Four does sound kind of young, but he might really enjoy going? I'm sure you'll be open to talking with him about any and all he's feeling so in that case, I don't think you have anything to worry about.

Sort:  

Hadn't heard of the religious exemption. Sounds perfect! I wonder how people prove their religion?

Let me tell you what happened...

I vowed not to get a TV till someone went and gave us one! The french cartoons are very good at making school look like fun, so the idea was implanted by the TV. I believe if he had no reference to what it was, he wouldn't be so excited to go. Still, it is what it is. I relinquish my desire to control.

No doubt he will love it, as he loves all things.

You don't have to prove your religion just sign a paper claiming that it is against your religion. They put a lot of pressure on you, but if you're determined then they'd rather keep your child there then lose the funding of having one less student.
Isn't it always the TV! Well, school will be similar to the TV in its mass function as the great socialization machine. My youngest is now sixteen and was excited for Kindergarten, but just after a few days was frustrated with all of the rules and pushing about. He told me everyone was commanding kids to sit down, be quiet, back of the line, etc. When he asked me why he had to go to school I told him I guess he had to be socialized. Next day at the bus stop he started to cry and said he didn't want to be socialized :( It's one of my favorite stories and shows how he came from a loving and supportive family and felt okay expressing himself.
I told him I'd home school him now, but he'd rather go for friends and he says he thinks school is probably easier ;)
All four of mine went through the system, I think it's pretty difficult to shelter them completely even if taught at home, but we can teach them our own values and they'll weigh it all out and as adults my three eldest have developed well their capacities to think critically.
Your children look so sweet and I'm sure he does LOVE everything and everyone :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89