Esteban starts nursery on Monday: please help me feel good about this!

in #school5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 20190812 at 21.14.49.jpg

To me it seems the age of 4 is too young to leave home as a child, even if it is only four afternoons a week. Good old Macron changed French law last year, moving the compulsory attendance age from 6 to 4.

At first I resisted it completely saying that we would move on to another village when Esteban hit the legal age, to a place where no one knows his age!

Sabrina on the other hand seemed excited by the idea and asked that I let it go.

Screen Shot 20190812 at 20.49.23.jpg

Letting go

GOPR0357.jpg

As is my way, I yielded to the weight of the Universe which seemed to be opening up this particular pathway.

It is of course one thing saying yes and another thing entirely when he is due to start in just a few days.

Screen Shot 20190812 at 21.16.13.jpg

What's my issue?

At the age of 7 I attended a boarding school where I was labelled dyslexic & ADHA. I was a very bad student, but not because I wasn't trying. In truth my thoughts just flow better when I am moving and as we all know, a classroom forces us to stop moving. I was beaten many times by teachers who thought this would help me focus better. In fact it did the opposite.

I lived in constant fear and my vision became myopic. A common side effect of trauma in the early years. Logical when you think about it: I didn't like the world I was in so my eyes blurred it out for me. The only thing I could see was stuff I chose to put directly in front of my face.

Had I known what was in store for me at this school I would not have wanted to go. Instead, due to my enjoyable experience prior to that at nursery school, I welcomed it with open arms. I was excited to go to boarding school! I remember this clearly. But once I was there all I could think about was escaping. Which was not an option.

GOPR0294.jpg

Now I know Esteban won't be going to any fear filled boarding school and I also know that my past experience has shaped my perception of anything which resembles a school.

So, I am willing to let it go for now and go with the flow. However, as I said, am just struggling to find the good feelings around this today. Particularly as I am not even there to give him a hug and feel out his energy.

Ultimately it is my intention to homeschool both of them but this can only happen once crypto shoots to the moon. For now I must still work!

Right, that's enough of that.

Who can tell me why this is actually a wonderful thing and I'm making a big deal about nothing?

kids3.jpg

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over two years.

old banner.jpg

Sam supports @naturalmedicine because they are seeking to help us in ways which go far beyond money. Please come and join us on Discord

ec08b62bddb542269ece7cda7e763d784ea87db8.gif

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

imageedit_1_5527523249.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

How did the first few days go?

Thanks for asking. He seems excited by it and keen for more. And appears to have already made a friend. Antonio ;)

He's a beautiful child and of course you're worried about sending him to school! So happy that you found a doc that would sign off on the shot's. Here in the States you can sign a religious exemption, with the idea that if there's a breakout your kids can't attend. Fine.
Four does sound kind of young, but he might really enjoy going? I'm sure you'll be open to talking with him about any and all he's feeling so in that case, I don't think you have anything to worry about.

Hadn't heard of the religious exemption. Sounds perfect! I wonder how people prove their religion?

Let me tell you what happened...

I vowed not to get a TV till someone went and gave us one! The french cartoons are very good at making school look like fun, so the idea was implanted by the TV. I believe if he had no reference to what it was, he wouldn't be so excited to go. Still, it is what it is. I relinquish my desire to control.

No doubt he will love it, as he loves all things.

You don't have to prove your religion just sign a paper claiming that it is against your religion. They put a lot of pressure on you, but if you're determined then they'd rather keep your child there then lose the funding of having one less student.
Isn't it always the TV! Well, school will be similar to the TV in its mass function as the great socialization machine. My youngest is now sixteen and was excited for Kindergarten, but just after a few days was frustrated with all of the rules and pushing about. He told me everyone was commanding kids to sit down, be quiet, back of the line, etc. When he asked me why he had to go to school I told him I guess he had to be socialized. Next day at the bus stop he started to cry and said he didn't want to be socialized :( It's one of my favorite stories and shows how he came from a loving and supportive family and felt okay expressing himself.
I told him I'd home school him now, but he'd rather go for friends and he says he thinks school is probably easier ;)
All four of mine went through the system, I think it's pretty difficult to shelter them completely even if taught at home, but we can teach them our own values and they'll weigh it all out and as adults my three eldest have developed well their capacities to think critically.
Your children look so sweet and I'm sure he does LOVE everything and everyone :)

They are so cute! :>)
I am glad that I don’t have to make these kind of decisions, it is far from easy.

Although my school days weren’t that traumatizing. From a young age on, I felt that it was very unnatural to spend so much time in a classroom, being force fed certain info ( to make you fit inside the system ). Besides that, I have seen the other side too ( being a teacher ) and that one didn’t feel right either.

✨👾✨

Posted using Partiko iOS

The decision is made already. I just have to make it right.

It is exceptionally unnatural to sit all day as we do! I think we can sense that as children, but the cartoon brainwashing is much more fine tuned these days and they are consequently excited to jump into the system. As I mentioned to @kimberlylane above I believe the TV which I reluctantly accepted into our home last year is solely responsible for the way Esteban feels.

I wrote my first manifesto at the age of 13 in the back of a maths book:

A money free society in the middle of the amazon rainforest, where there are no schools and the women dance for the men on the tables after dinner ;) I'm not joking! I still have it.

When you were a teacher if you had been free to teach your own truth, you would have likely been very helpful to them. A teacher teaching a syllabus is something else altogether.

At this age, it could be fun! Hopefully, it will be about playing most of the time...
as for real school, that's a bit different. Hope cryptos moon by that time and you can take your kids around the world!

Sabrina tells me it is all games and playing so no doubt it will be fun. From my perspective this is nothing more than a sneaky little trick however because kids develop the idea that school is fun & normal!

Cryptos will moon soon enough & I will provide him with something far more interesting than school ;)

The circumstances of the new laws are incredible. Forced vaccinations would scare me too. There is no accountability held against lawmakers, pharma, and doctors when something goes wrong. Good job for doing your research and protecting your family.

There is always the fear that our children will have to suffer through the same horrible events that we had as a kid. Nobody ever wants their kids to have to repeat painful events that could have been avoided. Know that you will be better prepared to help your kids if the same thing starts to happen, because you will recognize the signs. When you went through all of this nobody knew how to help you.

In the best case scenario, despite your fears, your kids will grow up without any of the same setbacks you faced, and might even become a shinning friend to some of their classmates who will need their loving support.

A great thought indeed. He is so very compassionate and friendly I could really see him helping others in this way.

It's just tough when I have a vision of the future and it doesn't turn out the way I planned it.

I trust the Universe knows what it is doing and like you say I am in a good position to detect any fear or negativity should there be any.

And unlike my parents I am very willing to follow the guidance of my child in this matter.

I wish you and your family the very best. We have chosen to home school our grandchildren. I do not know what France is like, but the US has gone absolutely bananas and we will not allow the school to try to confuse the kids about their gender, or have them taught biological nonsense like there are over a hundred genders... and we are not going to have the girls playing sports against other "girls" with beards and dicks and sharing a locker room with them, and yeah, no vaccines. That is far from encouraging I suppose, but it is what I have to offer... "it could be worse." You could be in the US.

Whatever the US is doing, France isn't far behind. I can only accept this situation because it is nursery school. Homeschooling will become the priority next year, before they can do any real damage.

Enjoy the ride with your grandchildren!

You are going in with eyes wide open, that will afford your children a great deal of protection. And we just cannot protect them from the world, they have to learn to live in it. Best to you and yours!

I hear your pain, but I am sure you will quickly see if something is wrong....as soon as you do just take him out. Perhaps you just need to give it a fair chance, he might have a totally different experience than you had. Good luck and don't cry too much when you drop him off.

There will be no crying as I'm not even in the same country as my family. Which doesn't make it any easier.

But yes, I do need to give it a fair chance. Am sure he will love it ;)

As I spent most of my school-going years in boarding school, I hated school so much that I never finished high school. I think of it as something like home-schooling, I educated myself...only, the education is still happening more than sixty years later.

My friend, mentioning what was done to help with the vaccines, that was wrong. He took a risk and your name is in public, even the village can be traced - plus it could cause social security to give you huge problems. Remember, even if those in the village are nice people, their bosses are not.

I hear you about the education. Mine is ongoing too!

As for the other thing I find it so hard to imagine how anyone in authority would ever come across this post. One has to be looking for something in order to find it. And why would they be looking?

Still, you are the second person to mention this so I suppose, now that my core followers have read it, I can make adjustments. What I enjoy most about the story is how Sabrina was able to manifest the solution in a totally unexpected way. Very much along the lines of Law of Attraction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79