LIVING IN MY NIGHT MARE

in #scarystory6 years ago (edited)
Before now, I use to believe that there were no witches or wizards or demons. I thought life was just the physical. Though I have heard and I believe that there exists a God who is a spirit being. I still do not think spirit being can have anything to do with flesh apart from the Almighty creator.
In my community, there are different deities that we believe they have some powers. I always thought they do not exist and I always call those who worship them lunatics. Until this particular night, after a long journey from my uncle’s place in the city, my mother made some good meal for us. We had some good evening old tales that I enjoyed so much. My Dad use to tell us most of these tales some times when he is happy. Now he was gone; I mean dead and was buried just in the middle of the sitting room. When he was to be buried in the sitting room, I kicked against it that he should be buried in one of the plot of land he owns albeit my plea was ignored.

Difference-Between-Devil-and-Demon--768x480.jpg

After series of old tales about the tortoise and other animals, we were all tired and went to bed. Just 11:59pm, there was a soft know on our door. Initially, it was as soft as a man will knock when he left his wife’s bed and wanting to sneak into his house maid room. My younger sister and my mum were sleeping in another room while I slept in the visitor’s room close to the sitting room. The soft knock on the door became so intense that I thought everyone in our neighborhood would wake up. I was uncomfortable; I have heard the knock all the while but I decided to lay still with no answer. Since the knocking is becoming strong I decided to answer “Who is that?”. Everywhere was quiet after my question. The knocking ceased and a dog started barking from a far distance. I wanted to open the door but I was scared now. I sat a little in the sitting room; the electric power has been cut off by the power suppliers. I lit up a gasoline lantern and went back to bed. After some few minutes, the knock came again. This time, I did not hesitate in asking who was there. Yet, there was no reply. My mum and sister were deep in sleep. I wanted to wake her up but I decided I should open the door.

The lantern was still shining as I walked straight to the door. I unlocked the door bolt and open the door. Behold I saw nothing - just dark air that is cold like a demons breath. The dog has ceased barking the moment I opened the door. I was now more scared. Who might be knocking on our door? I went back inside, bolted the door and went to my bed. A minute later, my lantern went off. I took my mobile phone and went to put the lantern back on. As I opened the curtain to the visitor’s room wanting to enter the sitting room I saw some feet standing just on my father’s grave. My face was down. The feet so old like the feet of an old witch. I was scared to look at the face of these feet. The door I bolted was now wide opened. I can no longer hear my mama’s breath. I was frozen.

I can no longer felt my breath. It was gone yet I was still breathing. My mobile touch light was getting dimmer. I tried raising it up and look at the face standing on my father’s grave. The door slam closed as I tried looking at the face. I felt some liquid running down my legs. This creation might have crawled from a corpse shell. Was it going to kill me? I stood there for more than 10 minutes. I cannot shout non can I run. I tried calling to my mama but I can no longer hear her heavy breathing. Then the foot walks towards me now and bent down for me to see it face. I saw nothing still. There were goose bumps all over my body now. I can feel a kind of cold air around me. Then the electric power supplier came on again as the sitting room became bright but I did not see the foot again and my door was perfectly bolted just as I left it initially and I can now hear my mum’s breath.

I looked at my wet night wears. I might have pee on them. I could not sleep for the rest of the night. In the morning, I told my mother about what happen. She said she was awake at that particular time of the night and did not hear any noise or any knock on the door or hear me open the door or heard any dog bark or the power went off. The electric power has been on all through the night. I might have been in a dream whose setting is in the real life. I was living in my night mare!

Number of words: 871 words excluding title

This is @julietisrael organized contents. You can follow this content on: https://steemit.com/contest/@julietisrael/celebrating-a-milestone-or-20-sbd-giveaway-contest

Sort:  
Thanks your amazing entry on our #jet-contest
You just got jet-voted. ✌

unnamed (2).gif

The Stories is very scary @focygray

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your comment.

Congratulations @focygray! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I give it to you, you got me here. You actually made me scared and got me glued to the story to the very last part.

Nice work.

I'd advise you proof read your works before dropping them though. Aside some errors I noticed, the suspense is top notch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53