How to Handle Craigslist Scammers ( #scammers contest entry)

in #scammers7 years ago (edited)

fraud-prevention-3188092_1280.jpg

So a few days ago I stumbled across @swissclive 's #scammers contest, which prompts users to write a post about a scam they've been involved in, witnessed, etc.

I often come across contests and think "I should enter this!" and then completely forget, do nothing about it or sit down to do so after the deadline ran out. I thought the latter had happened again, but I was pleased when I went to check and noticed the contest was still open. If anyone else has a scam story, it seems like a fun contest, and you should check it out here: https://steemit.com/scammers/@swissclive/writing-competition-write-about-scammers-a-scam-you-saw-or-a-scam-you-suffered-first-prize-25-steem

A few months ago I was looking for random work to supplement the hours I lose in the winter. I live in a somewhat rural area, in which there are always people looking for random manual labor to be done. So, I made a post on Craigslist expressing that I was seeking work for the next few months and made the huge mistake of including my phone number.

I can't give you the exact number of texts I got because I deleted a lot of the messages, but I'd guess I received the same scam message with slight variations from over 25 phone numbers. The scam generally goes as follows; they claim to be involved in real estate, say they need an errand-person, account manager, money handler; whatever. At some point, how long into the conversation differs depending on how committed they are, they try to get your banking info.

After awhile of calling people out, or ignoring them, or whatever, I decided one night I was just going to start talking to them. I had had a few drinks and, well, the result was me talking complete nonsense to a few of them for weeks.

Here's one of my favorite ones:

Disclaimer: This is very long and quite literally, gibberish. Absolute gibberish

FullSizeRender.jpg
IMG_0573.jpg
IMG_0574.jpg
IMG_0575.jpg
IMG_0577 (1).jpg
IMG_0578.jpg
IMG_0579.jpg
IMG_0581.jpg
IMG_0582.jpg
IMG_0583.jpg
IMG_0584.jpg
IMG_0585.jpg
IMG_0586.jpg
IMG_0586 (1).jpg
IMG_0587.jpg
IMG_0588.jpg
IMG_0589.jpg
IMG_0590.jpg
IMG_0591.jpg
IMG_0592.jpg
IMG_0593.jpg
IMG_0595.jpg
IMG_0596.jpg
IMG_0597.jpg
IMG_0598.jpg
IMG_0599.jpg
IMG_0600.jpg

It pretty much ended there. They continued to try to contact me and I humored myself some more a few times but eventually I just called them out and stopped talking to them.

I'm not sure if this counts as an entry into this #scammers contest, but I did find the contest a great excuse to re-read this conversation. I also did this with several people, and it was fun to mess with them. At the very least I wasted a good amount of their time and hope.

I couldn't figure out how to size all that in a format that isn't annoying, and so for that I am sorry. I hope y'all have a great day :)

Screen Shot 2018-02-24 at 3.41.48 PM.png

Manna - Collect what we all deserve
Presearch - Earn tokens while you search
Use steemfollower to connect with more Steemit users

Check out these faucets!
Moon DASH
Moon BCH
Moon LTC
Moon DOGE

Kryptonia - Earn SUP by doing simple tasks(or get Steemit likes from your own task)

Sort:  

LOL!!!! I laughed a lot reading this! It is a gem, you are greatly persistent in your character. Thanks for sharing, it is good to know you have a talent for dealing with scammers.

Haha, thanks! I had a lot of fun messing with these people, and just as much fun re-reading it because I really don't remember writing most of it. I wasn't sure if anyone else would find it entertaining so I debated posting it. I'm glad you liked it!

How would this not be entertaining? It is truly the sort of humor I like :D Very imaginative and thorough.

Couple of years back, I was selling some furniture via ebay. One overseas guy offer to buy with a high price but pay via paypal. He gave a fake screenshot and later I think he wanted some transfer fee from me. After searching on the net and checking my paypal, all were fake and he had been going around scamming others. I am glad I did not fall into the temptation of money. Thanks for sharing that can raise awareness!

Yeah, I've had a few really shady run-ins with PayPal and eBay. One time I walked into the post office with something I had sold and the person behind the counter took one look at the address and told me to wait a day and come back. Sure enough, the funds were removed that night

Really funny! You must keep this for posperity.

The scammer wanted team-viewer to be installed on your computer, because that is an App that allows him to see your screen and to control everything on your computer (e.g. to see the banking passwords, send and receive your emails, and to perform transactions on your behalf).

I am glad you wasted his time.

Thanks! Haha. I couldn't believe how long he/she kept getting after me. I never looked into team-viewer, and it's not like I was going to download anything anyone sent me anyway but, the name didn't sit quite right, anyway. "Team viewer"? Pretty self explanatory.

Thanks for reading! :)

Can’t markle with sound sparkle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72