The Toyota Corolla scam

in #scammers6 years ago

Hello friends, thanks to the challenge created by @swissclive, in which we must tell a true story about a scam, whether it happened to us or to someone we knew, it made me remember how they cheated my friends, neighbors, family and me, a group of "entrepreneurs" who promised to sell us new cars, this is the Toyota Corolla scam.

Imagen3.png

It was the year 2011 and in my country buying a new car was very difficult, not only because of its high cost, there was also the problem with the agencies, in them there were no cars, you had to have contacts to put you on a list of I hope it could last several months, this having already paid for the car, imagine making such a significant purchase and not knowing when your product arrived.

main_image

Image source

This is when this group of investors comes in, we met them through a friend who invites us to one of their exhibitions, they made it in a meeting room in a luxurious office building, these businessmen with a very professional appearance, a perfect domain of the theme and an impeccable lexicon quickly knew how to sell us their idea. This idea consisted of bringing together a considerable number of people, who would pay monthly installments, which added enough to buy a car, which would be very cheap because it would be purchased directly from the assembler, would be chosen by lottery to who would be given the first car. Not everyone was convinced, several of those present felt that it could be a scam, but even they could not pass up this opportunity, they just thought that if it were true and they would lose a new car, and not any new car we talked about a Toyota Corolla, that in my country is only available to the most affluent.

main_image

Image source

We all fill out the forms, sign the contract and pay the first installment, we wait for the first month and as expected, nobody received the car. At this point any scammer would take the money and leave, but this is where they showed their talent, they knew they could get more money and they did it. With great patience they answered the calls of people demanding an explanation of why the first car was not delivered, they had excuses for practically everything, they even offered the total reimbursement, but they played with the illusion of the people, besides the quotas were not high, so they spent the months and everyone kept paying their dues. When the annoyance of the people reached intolerable levels offered to return the money to whoever wanted it, most took that offer and withdrew their money, leaving few, and surprise the following month they made the first draw and delivered a car, which were withdrawn Seeing this, they were ready to go back to the list, the entrepreneurs said that the only way to return was to pay for everything they had withdrawn plus a series of fines for paperwork among other things, of course everyone paid.

main_image

The next month when everyone expected the next draw, you could not contact any of the investors, their offices were empty, even the winner of the first car could not be contacted either, we realized that nobody knew him, it was when we understood that we were scammed.

Image source

Imagen3.png

Thanks to @swissclive for creating this window that allows me to tell my story, I am a bit embarrassed to tell how I was scammed, but thinking that maybe I can prevent someone from going through the same thing, I encourage them to do so. I invite you to participate Link to the post. Until the next opportunity.

Imagen6.png

Sort:  

They got everyone to pay monthly installments for a car that would never be delivered.

The more I read stories like this, the more I realise that I have paid money for things (cars included) where I have taken the word of the salesman on trust. In future I will thoroughly investigate the people I am dealing with before giving them any of my money.

Please help others by commenting their blogs just as I have commented yours.

These scammer stories will surely save me from many potential scams in the future.

Honestly I had not been encouraged to tell this story because I feel embarrassed to say that I was scammed, but this is the only way to prevent others from being victims of these people, I wish someone had told me their experience, so as not to fall for that scam .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94