SCAM in Steemit Chat

in #scam7 years ago (edited)

I just survived my first SCAM attack in Steemit Chat

Somebody that pretended that he/she is @glitterfart contacted me in Steemit Chat:

Clipboard01a.jpg


At that point there was only 5% chance that out of the blue a Whale contacted me and badly needs my 10SBD. I copied the username from the chat to https://steemit.com/ and hit enter:


Clipboard01b.jpg


So I asked him/her:

Clipboard01c.jpg


I was disanointed it was not a whale but a scammer. I decided to play this game little bit longer.

Clipboard01f.jpg

Almost there 😎

Clipboard01tt.jpg


Remember you are your first and your last line of defence!
Take care!


My YTB Channel


Sort:  

Downvoted for using headline on normal text.

Hi, can you please explain what is wrong with my text ?

I did. You are using headline h4 or h3 on text that should be normal text.

And what means "should be normal text" if there is general rules for how post must be edited please provide me with a link

No not rule but common sense. The h3 is called a headline tag for a reason. Because it is expected to be used in headlines.

For example, you could use the headline tag on the first line and leave the rest normal.

Edited. I still like the old stile ... :)

Returned a bit more than what you lost due to the downvote. ;-)

OK I see, and why you did not start with that before flaging ?

I am using bigger text to make diference with the screencapture of a chat... And still do not see what is wrong with that

It is almost unreadable for me.

Are you the Headline Police?

I personally feel it is the duty of every honest person. To play with these scammers when we have the chance.

I once had a guy try to rip me off when selling a car. He said he would pay $7.000 via Paypal, but nothing came into my account. Instead, I received an email from [email protected] :) telling me I just received a payment.

The guy overpaid by $2k so he wanted me to Western Union the rest to him.

I played the fool perfectly. Promised him I would go to Walmart and send the transfer later in the day. I them called him a few hours after, claiming the line at Walmart was too long. He tried his best to convince me to wait it out, but I told him I had other things to do and would send the money the next day.

Long story short I bs'ed him for a couple of days before the idiot figured I was messing with him.

It was awesome. I could hear how happy he was when I said I was going to send the money. He thought he had found a sucker LOL.

I take great pleasure knowing I gave the jerk false hope, only to break his soul.

This was my first time and I was curious how he will develop his storry :)

The chance that this can be real is zero. So far the mods at Steemit.chat are banning these assbags left and right, but they keep on trying. They're on Discord too.

If anyone sends you a message offering any sort of upvote service for whatever SBD, tell them to fuck right off.

This was my first time and in 5 min I was sure it is a scam. Next time I will be faster :)

The way you presented it in your post is very valuable to new users. I resteemed it for that reason.

How can Steemit leadership align that Steemit Chat ID to a user to ban them?

I do not know. I am no an IT but maybe it is not hard thing.

Smart like always. Good job 😉

Thanks. Did I know you?

I am new member for steemit.

Smart like always. Good job 😉

Haha thank you!

This post has received a 0.71 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @nomadics. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

haha)) i've sent him 15$...idiot
he would have bad carma...fackin pig

Yes if he contact today 100 people and 10 of them send him money he will make 100$.
I am sure he will come and read this post so he will know what you think about him :)

Wondering how it can happen

I do not know I almost do not use the steemit chat I am in discord...

Unfortunately, I am a victim of his scam earlier today! I feel so ashamed!

I also belived him because I want to belive, then it become too good to be true..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78