Can you imagine an $8,000,000 steem market buy? - A conversation with an email scammer

in #scam8 years ago (edited)

Last week a scam email made it through my spam filter.

Hello,

My name is Juliet Timothy. l am 23 years old. l really need your assistance. My father dead two years ago and our family members wants to kill me and seat on the inheritance my Father left for me with the bank, l am now in a hiding and the documents of inheritance is with me 8.8 million. please help me to have this fund transferred to your country and I will fly to join you. l will be waiting for your reply.with this Address([email protected]) Is only you i well trust with all my heart,i hope you will help ask well?

I am waiting to hear from you.

Regards

Juliet Timothy



Rather than just deleting the email I thought that I would respond to the poor soul in need.

Hello Juliet,

Oh my goodness! I am so sorry for your loss and for what your family is doing to you. It really has me feeling outraged! Unfortunately I am not sure what I can do to help since I have no previous experience with transferring such a large sum of money.

Have you tried contacting the police in your jurisdiction regarding the matter?

I am wishing you the best with your dilemma.

Regards,

Brian



As expected the response from the scammer was pretty generic, asking for some personal information. At this point I am assuming that he/she will eventually try to get me to wire some money to cover the cost associated with transferring $8,000,000.

Hello Dear Brian,

Thanks for your quick response to my e-mail.What I want you to bear in mind is that I have contacted you in this transaction with a sincere mind and in good faith as an orphan praying and believing that you are not going to disappoint me at the end of this transaction or on the arrival of the fund into your bank account.What I want you to bear in mind is that everything about this transaction is very much real and 100% risk free. there is no specific country the fund can be tranfer to any country

This fund as you can see is the only thing I inherited from my late parents and the only hope of my life because My late fathers family members is after my life because of the fund and I am in hiding,it is very important that the fund is transferred immediately and as soon as possible to enable me come over to meet with you in your Country for the investment of the money into a profitable business venture.

For the transfer of the fund into your bank account you will need to be in direct contact with the bank with the information I am going to send you.All you have to do now to enable me put you in direct contact with the bank is to send me your details which include's.

  1. Your name
  2. Country
  3. City
  4. Address
  5. Mobile phone number
  6. Age
  7. Occupation

I will be sending you the necessary information you will need to know concerning the transfer of the fund including the certificate of deposit issued to my late father by the bank on the day the money was deposited immediately you get back to me with the above details.I have decided to give you the 30% of the total amount for your assistance/effort and apart from this you are going to be in charge of the investment.

Yours faithfully,

Juliet Timothy




But of course I don't want to go that route, so I ask the scammer to send me the inheritance in bitcoin or steem.

Hello Juliet,

I don't really like to use banks. Do you think you would be able to convert your inheritance into bitcoin and send it to me that way? If bitcoin is not an option you can also convert the funds to the cryptocurrency Steem which I will gladly receive from you and return when we rendezvous.

Steem is probably the fastest method to have your money transferred, so once you have converted your money please let me know and I will forward a wallet address where you can transfer the funds. I am worried about your safety and time is of the essence.

This is going to work out great!

Please let me know if you have any questions and stay safe!

Brian



Can you imagine an $8,000,000 steem market buy?

Of course the scammer isn't having this, although it appears that he/she did take the initiative to Google bitcoin. Instead the $8,000,000 will be sent to me in a box. WTF!

Dear Brian

Thanks a lot for your idea , i have tried to enquire from the bank about this method of transfering the money and they said it was introduced in 2009 the banks here have not yet started applying it here , But they said they can help transfer the money to you through diplomatic means in a trunk box , that is to say, they can cargo it and tag it dlomatice lugarge and then transfer it to your designated address and you will receive it without any problem in your rsidence , They told me that this is the way so many personalities have been moving out money to Asia , western world and europe from Africa , so i told them , i have to hear fom you first before jumping into any conclusion yet , they said it will cost little amout of money to transfer the money through that means ,
I will stop here until i hear from you soonest,

My Regards,

Juliet



I again request that the transfer be made in steem and I ask for some personal information from the scammer too.

Hello Juliet,

I have to say that I don't think it would be wise to ship such a large sum in a box - anything could happen. Instead I must insist that you use cryptocurrency to make the transfer. To do so you will need to withdraw the funds from your bank and purchase bitcoin or steem from someone in your area. Localbitcoins.com is a site to help connect you with bitcoin sellers; however, since I prefer steem I would like to try to get you setup with a steem seller in your area. I will contact the community to find someone close to you, but in order to do so I will need:

  1. Your Name:
  2. Country:
  3. Address:
  4. Phone Number
  5. Age
  6. Occupation

Once I receive this information I'm sure I can find someone willing to help you convert the inheritance to steem. Then you will be on your way to leaving your country, safe and far away from those trying to hurt you.

Please get back to me as soon as possible, otherwise this may be delayed due to the upcoming holidays

Regards,

Brian



I think the scammer is growing tired of this, but they still take the time to respond. Note the mis-spelling of my name.

Dear Brain,

I contacted you because the bank had already told me previously that i have to provide my late father business partner to come for the money this was documented in the testament my late father gave to the bank , This is why your presence is needed here i cannot ask the bank to give me access to this money that way or make any withdrawal from that money , they will rather prefer to deal with you directly , i am of the opinion that you contact the bank and arrange everything with them ,I cannot handle this alone
i want you to understand me
please write me soon so that i will know what to do ,
My regards
Juliet



I'm tired of this too so I decide to end the conversation.

Juliet,

If you would like for me to help save your life I require Steem Power.

Are you sending or are you not?

Not Brain

-- END --


I'm pretty confident that this person is not going to continue, but what do you think...

Will I receive another email from Juliet to keep the conversation going?



EDIT: Another response received...

Hello Dear ,

What am telling you is not a joke , here in Africa , they see things differently , in the offices here , people hardly give attention to you when they know you have no solid back ups and i don know the type of Steem Power. you are talking about okey
Please explain well,
Juliet

This should be fun!

Sort:  

Congrats on trying to take up on that. It is a funny experiment and your post reminded me of this little nugged: https://www.ted.com/talks/james_veitch_this_is_what_happens_when_you_reply_to_spam_email .It's fun to watch.

That's hilarious! Thanks for sharing.

That's almost at the bottom! I will have to work on that for the next one.
Thx for the comment @thebluepanda

$8,000,000 steem market buy would be amazing!
Shared on twitter

Steem_Land Steem_Land tweeted @ 21 Dec 2016 - 21:02 UTC

Can you imagine an $8,000,000 steem market buy? - A conversation with an email scammer

steemit.com/scam/@mynameis… / https://t.co/xOvpwAjECd

@steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I was giggling in the bus!!

This was so funny! Send Steem now!!!

Note the mis-spelling of my name.

lulz...
He must think you're really smart!

Brain sorry I mean Brian This would make for a great script for a comedy movie haha

Great post @mynameisbrian!!! All my family laughed from the heart! Thank you!

Hilarious write up and exchange of emails, thanks so much for sharing. That was a well needed laugh. The idiocy of these spammers. Upvoted

Brian, you obviously have far too much time on your hands.

How would you like to do some work for me in the marketing sector?

I'll be happy to pay you in surplus product... Where should I deliver the trunk? 😄😇😄

@creatr

It's hard to resist churning out posts with the current bot action here on steemit.

You put a smile on my face with your amusing post today, Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91