surpassinggoogie Phishing Scam in Steemit.Chat asking for money to poloniex.

in #scam6 years ago

Before I start this post

My deepest condolences to my dear friend and witness colleague @surpassinggoogle's as his mother has passed away after much suffer and struggle with cancer. I pray for your mama's soul, may she rest in peace. And I pray that the Almighty give you and your family the strength in these hard times. My friend, I am here for you, If you need anything. God Bless

Now I move to the Scam Part

surpassinggoogIe, A fake steemit chat handle asking SBD to his poloniex wallet by showing post of @surpassingoogIe.

When I researched. First, I got confused and thought there is a bug in steemit.Chat as I searched the name and found both accounts. See the pic
Bit confused though.png

I found that the scammer is used capital Iinstead of small l, to scam people So smartly but he got caught.

He is using poloniex so he can do the scam in discretely.
Only polo.png

Asking to transfer money thhrough this memo @poloniex
268db175fa78a5da

Today I got a message from him; He is asking me to transfer some SBD to his poloniex wallet for his mother. But when I saw, This post made by @surpassinggoogle I surprised cause, In best of my knowledge, @surpassinggoogle never ask SBD like this.

Be aware, Never Send money to his account.

He already fooled my friend @cloh76 and others as well. see his post How he got fooled here

I found 14 different transactions to the same poloniex wallet from different users. Here is a screenshot of that.

Screen Shot 2017-11-25 at 12.14.40 PM.png

Now, We need to resteem this post, So the visibility of this post increases and we can reach to most of the user and can prevent them from being scammed.
Hope user having most followers like @acidyo, @sweetsssj and @teamsteem will resteem.

I suggest to all user to Please make sure you are only sending your funds to the actual account holders through Steem and not through a third party exchange. Because other similar scams are going on, please also be sure to check the spelling of the handle of the name you are sending your funds to.


If you have fantastic ideas that will help our community to grow then let me know in steemit.chat or join #Steemit-India server in discord https://discord.gg/H5wHbt8.

Vote for me as a witness


You can vote for me here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Go to the witness page https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Scroll down and Type "jatinhota" into the box (without the quotes and @), and then click the vote button:

Vote Jatin Hota Steem Witness

or Set me As Proxy

Vote Jatin Hota Steem Witness

If I am on the top 50 witnesses you'll be able to vote for me simple my clicking upvote symbol the beside jatinhota.


kbIzuSj.gif



Have An Idea? Want to Chat with me or Need Support? You can Directly Chat with me in Steemit.chat or Discord

Thank you for reading it.


This post was written on the new @busy.org platform, come check it out.
Sort:  

Thank you for your warning and suggestion
:
"I suggest to all user to Please make sure you are only sending your funds to the actual account holders through Steem and not through a third party exchange. Because other similar scams are going on, please also be sure to check the spelling of the handle of the name you are sending your funds to."

Nice post! What will happening, if someone resteem your post?

Welcome dear, we need resteem it so it will reached to maximum users and can prevent scammer to do so further.

This must be taken seriously.. otherwise it will fool the rest of the steemitians ..thanks for sharing..

Yes, Thats why I said Resteem will help us to reach maximum user.

Resteemed ...

Thanks, That's good.

Thanks .. they became more smarter than before.. I'm still new to steemit this help me to stay alert

Yeah, They are. Welcome

Great informative post buddy. Upvoted, resteemed and following u as always.
Regards Nainaz
#thealliance

Thanks a lot my best friend.

Thanks for the heads up. People need to be aware of scammers like this one. Not long after I joined steemit a friend almost got scammed through a fake account using this same approach only this time the scammer was impersonating @sweetsssj..

It's sad that people can still think of scamming others on a platform like steemit with so many legit opportunities available.

Yeah, I run a witness server, would you vote me?

Upvoted and resteemed for more visibility... We must encourage @surpassinggoogle

What a mazing information thank you so match i will fllowing you as always

Thanks for your kind words. Would you vote for my witness?

upvoted & resteemed because it is the right thing to do.

Yeah, Correct Mate. It is for greater good.

Using the grief of others to satisfy your own needs is a disgusting move .
ontop of the subject being a follower of the victim - and using his heart break to scam others ; but this could soil someones reputation . not just on steemit, but in day to day living if word gets spread around enough .

I hope justice will come down on who is responsible for such actions .
R.I.P.
Rest In Paradise .

Well said bro. Would you vote for my witness?

To be quite honest i am still fairly new to this platform, and im not too sure exactly what that entails, how how it helps in any way ; forgive my ignorance - i am still looking to learn from this platform .
But perhaps if i get a break down of what it means to vote for witness ; much less become a witness, then maybe i will .
Im just cautious with doing anything online currently with all of these stories about things like this ; no offence or anyhting .
But im always looking to learn !

This is my post about witness.
https://steemit.com/witness/@jatinhota/what-is-steem-witness-everything-you-need-to-know
Just read, I hope you tell get some idea @endymionoriax

Yes, it hurts that they use his name . More now. I think the bandits are not real followers of anyone. His real followers love him.
I think the scammers' strategy is to go around sniffing trends and big users.

while this is true ; they must have had to follow his story for a little bit in order to get the information they have currently .
This is why i have THREE rules when posting online ;

  1. never tell them everything you know .
  2. information is a commodity
    • read rule number 1 *

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48