You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The benefits of inaction: a defense of a high SBD.

in #sbd7 years ago (edited)

As a fairly new user (just over a week) I can safely say that the whole thing witg steem/sbd/steem power/vests is terribly confusing. I'm starting to get a grasp of it now that I've received some rewards but it's still a bit murky, and the FAQ only goes so far to explain.

For now I've just claimed my rewards, however minor, but I am not planning on transacting on them until I properly understand it all, completely.

Sort:  

@farq I am also new, but the thinking is that we are here for the long-term, so just collecting SteemPower and not worrying about cashing out or whatever.

Steem is a great community, based on blockchain and cryptocurrency - blogging platform, reddit + cryptocurrency - what more can you ask? :)

Pretty sure that over time everything will become clearer and at beginning it's not just all that important..

Should focus instead on learning the platform, not getting too overfocused on rewards, financials ... because that's not the primary drive.

You are not going to be part of community only because of rewards, drive should be somewhere else, no? :)

That's smart. If you're brand new I would suggest selling SBD on the internal market for Steem and powering up. That will help your long term prospects here.

If someone is little - I think they should lease delegated sp until they are at least 500 sp total. We need votes with weight down here in minnowland.

I started leasing at the end of August. My first two months were needlessly hard. As soon as I leased delegated sp - everything changed for the better.

If you have 60 sp and go to 80 by buying sp - you are still nothing. If you get a few hundred sp for that same money - everything changes and you become a big fish in this place even if you are not. The big people come down and vote for minnows with weak power - my vote if often higher than big names here. I'n not sure why someone would want to spread the money so thin - 8 cents each to 100's of minnows. My 20 cents crushes big guys often and did when it was even less.

Thrilled with the price change though and more than doubled my account value in this episode.

So right yo are. I too wonder why people with so much sp hardly interact with new usersor vote for them. I have got a one cent vote from high end users and it really disappointed me.

Supposedly, you need to go in and kiss up to the whales - get them to notice you - and then try to get on their bot. I don't think that is usually too successful. Go look at whale posts and you will see they get hundreds of votes per post. A good portion of those people are trying to get that particular whale to vote for them.

But I do know two people actively chasing whales and doing VERY well with the kiss up strategy, so try it if you are that type of person. I did not believe it would work but it does. I'm not a nice enough person to do it - too blunt.

Some of them hang out in chats so you can go in there and beg for votes or whatever it is people do in there. I have heard this works, but I don't use chats at all so I have no advice.

The whales are in the position of being few yet having many that beg them for votes. You will just be another beggar going that route.

My advice is to interact with people higher than you - but not that much higher. Most whale votes are low on the slider, so you are not going to get a huge amount anyway.

You can go beg for one whale vote of $10. Or you can interact with many down here in minnowland and get those votes to add up to $10. Hopefully we all find a happy medium. And as you get a bigger and better presence here - bigger fish will find you naturally.

Also - many whales delegate sp. So you are getting a vote with a piece of whale power, but you just do not know that. Others are involved in projects that don't give them time to come out and browse.

I decided to ignore the whale situation here and deal with those who are lower on the scale. Slowly, things are getting better for me and now with the price going up - it's getting better still.

Thanks for your take on this. As you can see I'm totally new here, only lurking around for now and trying to soak up whatever I can because it's a bit more complex than it initially looks.
You cleared up the vote weight scenario quite well for me, I didn't really get it before.

Stop lurking ! Comment just like you did with a good comment and people will upvote you for your learning.

Read this post for tips and read and comment comment comment. You need to earn some little bit of sbd now, trust me and go after author rewards :)

Ask questions to me anytime and I will most definitely help you again. Good luck - you are here at the right time.

Make Money Blogging on Steemit Top Tips and Checklist for Better Results!!

Thanks for your support :).
I do intend to get involved a bit more but didn't want to rush into authoring stuff just for the sake of it.
I'm still learning the ropes, nosing around to try and understand things a little better and do like the way this platform rewards trust, support & quality so wanted to try and find a way to add any personal value that I could with the content.

There's a lot of helpful information around (including yours!) so I'm only in the stages of sifting through it all in order to try and get things right.

I agree. I love the platform and want to create value in my area of expertise. The rewards are motivating! Steem on!

The problem is if you give too much power to newbies, you're just enabling spam and people shitposting and upcoming themselves with various accounts.

Even though I'm still relatively inexperienced, I can see the merits

A good bit of advice @fitinfun I tried this via communities I accepted invitations to join. Once in a community, I felt I would like to support them, as they would be assisting me as well. It is all a learning curve.

Adding to what has already been stated in many places, prepare original content and when invited to join communities, join you learn a lot from others as you slowly grow.

You see, that suggestion may very well be the correct action to take, but that information isn't very clear to new users like myself.

I will consider doing what you've suggested in a week or so once I've accumulated more reward.. thanks :)

I think the correct suggestion would be sell the SBD on the open market, take the dollars and buy when more STEEM than you would have been able to before. Converting directly to STEEM in the platform is just throwing money and Steem Power away.

hi. good suggestion. but it not help to all. i think we should buy both steem and SBD. thanks for sharing your suggestion. What you think about my opinion? thanks.

I was responding to a comment about what to do if you already have SBD. Converting it now to STEEM on the internal market is a bad idea right now. You'll get 1 STEEM per 1 SBD. Use the external markets and you could get over 5x that of STEEM as of writing. That is what is most beneficial to a noob and to the platform since we want more STEEM powered up and they want more STEEM power.

I would not buy any SBD on the open market right now.

For publishing I would definitely use the 50:50 SBD and STEEM option which will maximize your ability to acquire STEEM through external markets.

By powering up you are locking down your steem and it takes 13 weeks to get all of it again. 13 weeks can be a lot in turbulent times, if for every reason someone wants/needs to cash out. So powering up is not the only option available. In the past steem never ever reached the performance of BTC, so all steem hodlers had so far huge opportunity costs! Lets not forget this!

Believe me, I feel your pain. That is the main gripe I have with the platform. I've looked at FAQ's and posts on here and still am confused about the interaction of the 3 currencies, especially how SBD and Steem can be traded on exchanges like Bittrex. I don't even see an option for depositng to my Steem or Steem Dollars account even if I did purchase on Bittrex. If this platform wants mass adoption, it needs to both simplify the process and provide literally "watered-down" explanations or videos. The "average Joe" would come on here and just give up, honestly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57226.98
ETH 2416.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29