Mexico 1986 - World Cup Memories and betting suggestions.

in #sbc6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the first in a series of posts where I will recount my memories of World Cups gone by. Each post will also feature a betting tip for the upcoming tournament so if you want that but don't want to read the article then scroll to the down to the bottom, I will be sad but hey-ho. Thanks for stopping by and happy reading.

Gary Lineker, England striker and golden boot winner at Mexico '86.
lineker_86.jpg
Image: https://georgesjournal.org/2010/07/06/handle-with-dare-world-cup-1986-argentina-versus-england/

The first World Cup I can remember is Mexico in 1986. In fact, my first clear memory of football existing at all is the 1986 FA Cup Final between Liverpool and Everton one month earlier. I rooted for the Toffees that day, solely to be in opposition to my school friend J_____ W____, whom I did not like all that much but happened to live conveniently nearby. Everton led at half-time, courtesy of a goal from Gary Lineker who would soon become my absolute hero, but ended up losing the game 3-1. Ian Rush (twice) and Craig Johnston spoiling my adolescent party. Hope became joy, which led in turn to an expectation that was swiftly replaced by disappointment and sadness. A sequence of emotions that has become all too familiar in a life supporting Southampton and England. If only I had known then what I know now, perhaps I could have channelled my energies into something a little more worthwhile.

I cannot recall if England was in the grip of ‘World Cup Fever’ in ‘86. Were the nations expectation levels disproportionately high compared to our relative chances in the tournament as they seem to have been ever since? Looking back at that squad now though, it looks simply awesome. Peter Beardsley and Lineker remain to this day my favourite England front two, Lineker’s instinctive finishing fed by the clever, deft passes of Beardsley. The midfield included Bryan Robson, Ray Wilkins, Glenn Hoddle, Chris Waddle and John Barnes, legends of the English game every one of them. At the back, a pre-bloodied-headband Terry Butcher marshalled a defence safe in the knowledge that an in-his-prime Peter Shilton lurked behind. And all this talent was managed by the wonderful (Sir) Bobby Robson, a man of class and dignity who is still hugely respected wherever he once lay his footballing hat.

The England Squad of 1986, complete with embarrassing songs.
eng_squad_86.jpg
Image: https://www.discogs.com/England-World-Cup-Squad-1986-World-Cup-Party/release/7453569

My memories of the early games are sketchy at best. I was too young to stay up and watch them live, instead replaying them on VHS before going to school. I can recall nothing of the defeat by Portugal in the opening match. The second game, a nil-nil draw against Morocco, survives in my mind only as a grainy historical GIF of Ray Wilkins lobbing the ball at the feet of the referee and being sent off. Wilkins was a hugely influential player and the first to be sent off for England at a World Cup. It was massive news and the result looked certain to be sending England home at the first available opportunity. But then everything changed against Poland in the final group game. Beardsley came in for his first start of the tournament and Lineker scored a wonderful, beautiful hat-trick. In my mind each of his three goals is identical. Beardsley zipping the ball across the six-yard area and Lineker sliding in, toe-poking the ball over the line and wheeling away to celebrate, a look of utter glee on his face. For a short while Lineker’s hand in the air, complete with that white plaster cast, was the image of the tournament. However, only for a short while.

Where is VAR when you need it, oh for a time machine...
hand_of_god.jpeg
Image: http://www.itv.com/news/update/2013-03-14/maradona-hand-of-god-brings-argentina-pope/

Like the first group game, I have no memory of the second round win against Paraguay. I must have watched it, sitting in my pyjamas munching cereal, like I did all the others but there is nothing there. In truth, I don’t remember too much of the quarter-final defeat against Argentina either, just a few key incidents, one in particular that you may have heard about before. I won't say too much about the ‘hand-of-god’ goal, it was a long time ago and I am over it now. I truly am, although admittedly it took the best part of twenty years to work through my system. What I do remember is the confusion that Diego Maradona’s second goal stirred in my young mind. Just a few short minutes after his blatant act of cheating the Argentine scored a goal so wonderful that it is rightly regarded as one of the greatest to grace a World Cup. Confusion turning to outrage, leading unexpectedly to bewilderment and awe. There was hope of course. Gary Lineker’s goal, late in the game from a John Barnes cross, that brought the score back to 2-1. The same two players nearly combining in exactly the same fashion a few moments later, only this time the cross was agonisingly out of Lineker’s reach. And that was that, my first lesson in World Cup disappointment, England out and Argentina through. Sudden death, knockout football, the hollow feeling of ‘what now’ settling in the stomach.

In hindsight, perhaps 1986 was England’s best chance to win a World Cup in my lifetime. Despite the heat, despite the captain missing half the tournament with a shonky shoulder, despite the red card for Wilkins in the second match, if that handball goal had been disallowed then who knows what might have happened next. An eminently beatable Belgian awaited in the Semi-Final and even West Germany in the final were not at their imperious best. Perhaps, if VAR had been around on that baking afternoon in Mexico City, then things would have panned out differently. Argentina, of course, went on to win the whole thing, a tournament that will always be synonymous with Diego Maradona for one reason or another.

Maradona almost won that cup single-handedly, don't pardon the pun.
maradona_cup.jpg
Image: http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/67/world-cup/2014/07/13/4957438/messi-misses-chance-to-match-maradona

WORLD CUP BETTING - Tip 1
Sergio Aguero to be top scorer. 2 points each way at 30/1 with Paddy Power (paying top six at 1/5 the odds).

If Argentina are to do well, and I think they will, then Sergio Aguero will surely play a big part. The Manchester City striker is a phenomenal finisher, more than capable of sticking away his only chance in a game, a crucial skill in the pressure cooker of major tournament football. Added to this is the fact that Paddy Power are offering 1/5 of the odds on the top six and this looks like a lovely bet.

nb. A word on betting banks for any novices out there. The above bet is stated as '2 points EW'. General wisdom is that your bank should be around 1000 points and that you should NEVER bet what you cannot afford to lose. For me, one point is £1, no bet during this World Cup will exceed 10 points.

Good luck, happy betting and please check out the rest of my blog :-)

https://steemit.com/@marcusbraeburn
https://steemit.com/sports/@marcusbraeburn/20-steps-to-a-million-an-introduction

gutta_1_new_transparent_black.png

Sort:  

great read, oh the nostalgia, '82 was the first one I remember, I think I might take that Aguero bet, I fancy Argentina this time round, it's probably Messi's last chance and he has a decent supporting cast this time!

Yep, despite 1986 and 1998, I have no lingering resentment against Argentina. Would love to see Messi win the world cup (although not at England's expense) to wipe some of the smirk off Ronaldo's face!

P.S. Cheers for the resteem buddy!

Maradona almost won that cup single-handedly...

Indeed, he did 😃

I remember the World Cup being a time when you could watch some interesting players you wouldn't have a chance to watch otherwise, such as René Higuita.

For sure, there was a mystery about most of the teams and most of the players. Really I think 1986 was the last World Cup before the game started to become truly 'global'... whatever that means!

The 1986 World Cup in Mexico is indeed associated to Diego Maradona! Of course not to forget the "Hand of God"!

I will never, ever forget... although like I say, I am over it now, just about :-)

Excellent read. Will keep reading these in preperation for the World Cup.

Thanks for the feedback, I have a few different things planned for the World Cup so stay tuned! :-)

What an epic world cup, I was too young back then to understand how great Gary Lineker or Maradona. My early years as a football fans would be the Holland trio of AC Milan. I hope you'll write on this topic too.

Interesting read. I love it so much!

Thanks for the feedback. Yes, those Dutch players from the late 1980's onwards were spectacularly good. Another goal I will never forget is van Basten's volley against Russia in the '88 Euros... here it is for anybody interested.

Nice read that Marcus. Although I recall the World Cup in ‘82 taking place I have absolutely no recollection of it. So ‘86 sticks out a lot more in my memory too. The second peach of a goal by Maradona is always overshadowed by his cheating first. Keep em coming!

Thanks mate, plenty to get through before the tournament starts, will probably skip '94 though...

well written and informative, its fun to read...thanks for sharing quality in the platform..keep doing this and strive for the best... congrats on your @c-squared vote

Many thanks, glad you like the post... more World Cup memories coming soon :-)

oh great definitely awesome and I'll be looking forward to that


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77