I saved this Dog's life

in #saved6 years ago

There was this homeless dog that's been hanging around the neighborhood for a few days since winter was starting. We had dogs of our own, So I had some dog food to feed the homeless dog. Ever since I fed it a few times, The dog always came back for more food. My guess is that I'm only one in neighberhood that would feed the dog.
It was getting colder and colder as days went by.
I tried to lure dog into a shed I have in back yard. I'd put food inside and let dog see me putting food in. The dog was scared and nobody could get close enuff to the dog to grab em and put inside the shed. The dog started going inside the shed just long enuff to eat and then back out. It took about 2 days of my shed being open for the dog some shelter. The next day it started to snow. And again the dog would not get close enuff. So I showed dog that i had food in my hand as I kneeled down so the dog would see I was being friendly. I was thinking about next day after watching news that there was going to be freezing rain come threw our area and I needed to get the dog into some kind of shelther. I hated seeing dog that looked to be freezing itself. after a day of lureing dog to me for hand feeding so dog would see that I was okay and not going to hurt em.
The next morning came along with rain and since it was already cold. That made it freezing rain. And still could not get the dog into the shelther away from rain. The dog looked sad and was getting closer at the end of the day.
Later that night as I was taking the trash out. The dog came up to me. The dog knew I would help em out of the cold. Dog was covered with ice cicles from the freezing rain. I opened the door to the house. And dog stopped a couple of times and would look inside door. Then I walked inside the door and called the dog to come to me as I kneeled down with a hand full of food.
Finally the dog came in. I hurried and shut the door and grabbed a towel to dry em off. the dog was loving me the way I was drying it. and looked happy to finally be in a warm house. The dog was lucky it decided to come in because the next day was we was going to have a snow storm.
I learned from living on a farm in my younger days , That if you give a animal shelther from rain or cold weather. Most animals know how to get out of the weather. This dog was still young and did not have the smarts like a lot of animals I debt with before.
As days went by from the snow and freezing tempertures. I could tell this was a house dog. And a good house dog at that. She would sit by door when she was ready to go out. or ready to go to bathroom.
A few days prior to me getting the dog in the house. I looked dog up on internet to see what kind of dog she was. And I found out that the dog was a breed from Germany called a American Eskimo Dog. A great companion dog at that.
After days of bad weather I posted of a found missing dog. But did not get no replies back of anybody missing. Then I took her to the vet to see if she mite have had a chip or something that can get dog back to its owners. Nothing came up of a chip or owners. The vet said she was a healthy dog just she was under weight. But a few more days of feeding her and she should be okay.
So now dog is all mine. I take care of her everyday and brush her long white hair daily so she looks all white. She's such a pretty dog.

Sort:  

No, it’s not just to make themselves look adorable. Dogs curl up in a ball when they sleep due to an age-old instinct to keep themselves warm and protect their abdomen and vital organs from predators.

Yes, She would roll up in a ball behind the shed in a pile of leaves for first few days she came around.

Such a sweet post of a sweet doggo! Some could say that kind soul like yourself has saved the world that day. Have you named her yet?

We have a rescue as well and must say they're all adorable (more or less, haha)!

Be well and thanks for your post!

Kindest regards,

Esa

I hate seeing animals go without at a time they need the most. I'm a animal lover which is why she drew my attention. the woman of the house named her Mazie, Cause it was amazing how she made it threw the winter with the bad weather. Thank you for liking my Post!

By all means - I feel for these poor creatures every time. Cannot even watch the rspca shows on television..

I know what your saying. I grew up on a farm and raised lots of different types of animals from Horses, goats, dogs and cats. I moved to city and see so much animal cruelty, Its crazy. Some people I think need to be put outside in the weather and no food for days to see how there animals feel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65070.55
ETH 3147.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55