Flagging on Steemit - Is an "Unjust" Flag the Best Thing to Happen to your Account?

in #satire6 years ago

I've seen a lot of posts lately about people starting flagging wars, so-called social justice warriors on the blockchain that are here to save the Steemit reward pool from the clutches of bankruptcy. Is this a post criticizing them and using the weight they have to crush the souls of the innocent . . . Not really.

Is this a rallying cry to unite all minnows to help abolish the injustices of these whales. Shall we rise up like the Justice League or the Avengers to help save these "little old ladies" from the bad guy whales? Have I set up a discord so we can counter these flags with hundreds no thousands of $.01 upvotes . . . I say neigh!


Source

Calling all whales. You should quit selling upvotes and starting selling flags. It seems that more and more people are calling for the end of bots that accept payment for upvote so why not be the first to create a bot that is paid to flag accounts. If I had the coding skills I would be quitting my day job and creating this bot ASAP, so whoever is the first can thank me later with 50% of all the profits.

What is this Guy going on About?

Well, my boy over on the Youtube Phillip Defranco has pointed out in many videos that unless you've done something terrible, the bad news is sometimes better than good news.


Source

A guy named content cop on youtube will make videos "exposing" other content creators for something "bad" they've done and what this does to the number of subscribers. Most of the time the first couple of days they'll lose something like 1 or 2% of their subscribers, but over the next week or so will actually increase there subscribers by 10 - 20% as long as they have a decent response (sometimes even if they have terrible responses).

So What Does This Have to do with Steemit?

TLDR - @michelle.gent over at the writers guild has had some of her posts flagged because @transisto was flagging her posts where she posted an excerpt from her book every day, due to draining the reward pool. Now I don't agree with this, but here are the results of @transisto's actions.

I'm no expert, but all these people creating multiple accounts and trying to upvote each other, upvote bots making $30 - $50 a week on the same post on how to use their bot, whales creating upvote circle jerks or auto-vote sites aren't what's draining the reward pool its flaggers. If you want to help someone become a whale today don't upvote the post flag the post! The bigger flag they get the more upvotes they get tomorrow!


Thanks to @bearone ^

Sort:  

okay, so who can I piss off to get flagged?

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel.gif

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.15$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Wow this was such an interesting read and a good take on it
I haven’t been in the loop on all these events but yours is an interesting concept

Did it look like I was keeping a straight face

When I first got here, there was a big scandal over flagging among people that I knew. Not only did they upvote the heck out of the person being flagged, they wrote posts on it so that everyone else would.

This $2.oo post turned into a $50.oo or $60.oo dollar post.

Yes, please. the alliance!!!!!

Haha I'm not much on drama otherwise I'd be all for it :P

Thank to @gniksivart for post informasion 👍

Interesting take.

I wouldnt say it is 100% but I see what you are showing here.

Lol no it's not 100%. My main point, in this case, is the amount of awards and attention they're receiving are probably going to outweigh the value that was lost with the flags.

I think in a lot of cases it will. You see this even more effectively on sites like youtube where it is very obvious that someone got flagged cause the negative hype makes people notice it.

It's pretty cool what happened to these accounts after lol

Even though I am new here, I totally understand what you are saying. When I was active as a content creator on Youtube. The more people that disliked your video, the more subs and support you would receive. And in many cases, it would go up a lot within the next 3 days of the disliking. All the dislikes did was draw more attention to the channel. Which in turn made the channel more money. It is the very thing I see happening here with all this flagging going on as of late. Some of the flagging is just and some of it is unjust. Regardless, it is drawing more attention to those pages. I had to chuckle when reading the article. :)

Thanks that's what I was hoping for :)

This was funny to read, but sadly also contains some solid logic. A lot of truth is said in jest. #thealliance!

A lot of truth is said in jest.

Truff

#thealliance!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by GnikSivart from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Ive been here on Steemit for a while and have seen a few of these flagging wars. TBH it just seems like there are plenty of wounds and not a lot of winners in the aftermath. Personally I try to avoid the drama like the plague.

I'm still getting used to the politics of posting. The value of an up vote or loss getting flagged for any reason. This brings me a bit closer to understanding.

I wouldn't worry about all that. Just look for good communities and work on creating posts like what gets noticed @ocd and you'll do great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90