ON CHRIST THE SOLID ROCK I STAND, ALL OTHER GROUND IS SINKING SAND.

in #satire6 years ago

There is hope. There is meaning. Those are things that exist.

Life has purpose and my labor is not in vain.

All is not vanity.

I am here for a reason.


1.jpg


There is beauty all around me.


2.jpg


Nature is beautiful.


3.jpg


Everywhere I go, I can see the Lord’s handiwork.


4.jpg


It’s always refreshing to come out here in the mountains.


5.jpg


It lifts my mind and helps me remember that life has value and meaning.


6.jpg


It’s just really good to get away from it all, you know?


7.jpg


All of my worries disappear out here, surrounded by nature and nothing else.


8.jpg


I feel so alive.


9.jpg


The negative thoughts melt away when I’m out here, and I’m able once again to locate the motivation required to be successful and happy in this wonderful world the Lord hath made.


10.jpg


Praise the Lord.


11.jpg


Praise the fucking Lord.


12.jpg


On Christ the solid rock I stand,


13.jpg


all other ground is sinking sand.


14.jpg


※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※


Hello from the high Rockies of Colorado. My name is Brandt, pleased to meet you. I’m a writer but I probably shouldn’t be. I live in a little ghost town called Leadville. If you like nature, happiness, hope, purpose, meaning, the Lord, etc., then you and I have a lot in common. Thanks for stopping by, and have a lovely day!

Sort:  

I don't know you yet, however this was a fantastically cool #walkwithme, I'm not sure what you were being satirical about, perhaps as I get to know you better I'll find out <3 <3

hi @lyndsaybowes, and thanks for the comment. i'm glad you enjoyed my #walkwithme, as opposed to my #dontwalkwithme. very good choice. nobody should ever go on a #dontwalkwithme with me, it's just never any fun.

i guess the satire here is supposed to be in the juxtaposition of mostly positive writing (e.g., "all is not vanity") with photos of ruined cabins and the leftover trash of old mining operations. The state of Colorado likes to call this stuff history and preserve it, but to me it's just evidence of life's vanity.

You know, now that I've had a day to mull it over, I remember that I have interacted here with you here before, it has just been a long time <3 <3

Well, that's quite possible. Your username seemed a bit familiar to me. I disappeared for several months and also changed my profile picture, so it's been a while.

Wow, thank you for explaining it to me! I also love to see nature reclaiming itself <3 <3 <3 I can pick up what you're laying down for sure!

I was like, oh damn, this no drinking thing has @brandt really looking at life differently... Then, hahahahahaha There's the good shit. Haha! Wow, that sinking house though...

yes, sober @brandt is a bit different. :) but no, i have not converted back to my childhood christianity at this point.

i'm still cursed by hymns and praise songs, they pop into my head randomly and often while i'm out hiking. yesterday that "sinking sand" song popped into my head while i was trying to enjoy a snowshoe hike and i was like fuck it, if i can't escape the music at least i can turn it into blog material.

i'm not sure why that sinking house is there. it's sitting in a pool that is part of the Leadville National Fish Hatchery's water system, so i'm pretty sure it's there on purpose. but it makes for a great photo.

Haha! Nice that you were able to make the best of the music in your head.
Interesting, maybe it's a little love shack for the spawning fish...

oh, i'm sure it's a love shack. why didn't i think of that.

Interesting post... I almost didn't even notice the theme of broken down cabins and other structures till I scrolled back through after reading another comment. I find such ruins to be mildly interesting, because you get to see what parts remain when everything else has failed or was destroyed. It can give you insight into which parts of such structures need to be most heavily reinforced and maintained to keep the entire structure usable.

thanks for the comment @rhethypo. in my experience, most of the structures i find are missing their top parts, which indicates that it's probably pretty important to make sure to keep the roof over your head. once that roof's gone, well, you might as well just set the whole world on fire and watch it burn.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81