My New Life

Hey folks! There’s a reason I haven’t been posting around here much lately, and that reason is that I’ve been adjusting to my new home on San Juan Island!

image

I moved out to Friday Harbor to work for my uncle’s tree care company, and to enjoy island living for the summer! I’ve also picked up another gig as a weekend cook at a tavern in town. This place is tiny - the estimated population as of 2017 was 2,407, but this number changes drastically throughout the year. Locals have told me that the population at least doubles in the summertime. Lots of multi-million dollar houses and priceless views. Many of these prime dwellings only get used one or two months out of the year. My spot is in the woods, about a 20 minute bike ride from town.

image

Working for my uncle has been pretty interesting, as I’ve never really gotten an insight into his work. I’m only doing grunt work - lots of chucking around sticks and logs, throwing stuff in the wood chipper, and tying knots. Pretty cool work though, we take down several trees per project, and in only a week I’ve seen lots of different methods that are required for different situations. No two days are the same! This is Tawm in a tree:

image

Overall, my life is going to be much more active out here, as I do physical work during the week and bike to work on the weekends. It’s certainly a change of pace, but it will good for me. Also, our internet out here is so shit that the only online game I can really play is SteemMonsters, so get ready to get your ass whooped over there! Thanks for stopping by, and stay tuned for pictures and write-ups of my experiences out here in the sticks!

image

image

image

image

Sort:  

Thank you k0wsk1! You've just received an upvote of 39% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

That seems like a great place my friend, well worth suffering a bad internet connection for ;-) Have a great time, and be safe my friend :-)

Thanks much, I believe it is! Cheers, and thanks for stopping by

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @k0wsk1!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.705 which ranks you at #4944 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 4945).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 200 contributions, your post is ranked at #32.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82