Sailwithme #3 - Steilene

in #sailwithme6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I moored up by Steilene, a group of islands nearby Oslo. They have been filled up with oil tanks and industry in earlier times - today almost everything has been cleaned up and the islands appears to be clean and inviting. There are some four islands - Landsteilene, closest to land, it has some harbour facilities owned by "Stiftelsen Landsteinene" and it's connected with Persteilene by a causeway. At Persteilene the harbour facilities and most of the buildings are owned by Nesodden Seilforening. Storsteilene is the biggest, it has one toilet, one remaining old tank without a ceiling and some unmaintained old harbour facilites, but except for that the island is mostly wild. Knerten is the smallest island, it's restricted area, reserved for seabirds - and then it's Fyrsteilene, it has been with an old lighthouse. There are several buildings on the island, but it's mostly deserted.

There is one quay at Persteilene, but the water level was a bit too low. Notice there is a gap between the boat and the quay - I was not able to move closer!

I almost felt lonely - so I decided to do a bit of searching to see if there were other people on the islands. Although there were lots of footprints in the snow at Persteilene and some few on Landsteilene, it appears I was the only person on the whole group of islands, both Friday and Saturday. That's amazing. Those islands are teeming with people in the weekends in the summer time.

Those buildings are owned by the sailing association ...

This is an old factory building. In the end of the building there are water toilets and a washing machine, publicly available, owned by the municipality - however today there was no water. I wonder if the pipes are frozen, or if they closed the water for the winter (but no signs about it ... so possibly the first). Too bad, I tried starting the washing machine before I discovered. Also, the toilet was not flushed when I came there, took me some time to figure out why ... :-(

I moved the boat, eventually

Every Saturday the children are attending a school downtown, so I left the big boat behind and went downtown with the dhingy. My seven years old son was with me. He said he was only freezing at his hands, though at the very end he was repeatedly asking how far it was left. I hope he enjoyed the ride and got a great experience from it, though it may have been a bit rough - apparently he had fever this night.

This is the straight of some islands with the name Ildjernet. Weird name for some islands, I think. It's deep enough to pass even with the big boat here, there is even a passenger ferry taking this route sometimes. Houses are hugging the hill to the mainland, it's pretty amazing.

Nesoddtangen

I took quite some photos of Aker Brygge when arriving downtown, but I'll post them in a separate post. Here is from the return trip.

This is the only remaining oil tank - serving the purpose of being a monument. The ceiling has been removed.

The tank has two entrances, one door on the middle of the wall - it's not accessible ... and then there is this hole.

I've been crawling in before, but today I was not really in the mood, just my hand and the phone (aka camera) went in the opening.

The ground on the inside looks really clean and wild, with lots of plants and even trees living there. I suppose the ground was covered with concrete when they used the tank for storing oil, though there are no traces of it. There are channels running down leading to this exit hole.

This island has no water ... but there is a simple toilet facility for the visitors. It even has toilet paper.

Then I went to Fyrsteilene, I've never been there before

This house can be rented.

"Engine house" ... "no access". I wonder a bit what it's used for.

The lighthouse itself is now privately owned, according to the information an artist is living there. No footprints anywhere, so he's obviously not living here now.

The light itself is removed, probably made obsolete by all the other lights and marks that has appeared, many of them directly in the sea. Lights are rapidly becoming obsolete by themselves, as people navigate by gps and digital maps rather than old paper maps. It is several years since I last navigated by a light. (edit: later the same day the lights proved useful for me, as I was navigating with the dhingy in the dark, difficult to go fast with the dhingy while holding the telephone. This light is still present on the official up-to-date seamap, so I should probably revisit in the dark and check).

Fenced, so nobody should climb up and fall down ... though, seems like someone wanted to climb up anyway.

No idea about this building. Who owns it, what is it used for, what works and what doesn't work ...

Webcam?

This is the view captured by the camera, if it still works.

Right ... so this is where I was supposed to leave the boat. I was wondering a bit, seemed to be no safe place to leave a boat.

This is the new breed of lights, they are non-standard Norwegian invention, called "HIB" - Hurtigbåt Indirekte Belysning. They were designed after an accident with 16 fatalities in 1999 where a fast boat (hurtigbåt) misnavigated. They have a green, red or white light at the top and is usually replacing lateral marks in the sea, but the main feature is indirect lightning - strong downward-pointing LEDs making the triangle visible from long distance and easy to see by the fast-going boats. Arrow points towards safe water.

All photos (and more of them) available in full quality at IPFS QmRWTBJxCYoWGAwXBhVcmwPv8PQwjtdzVnuLaKn3LMqcF7. CC BY-SA 4.0

Sort:  

What an amazing adventure trip man!
So you are traveling allong the northern sea, visiting inhospitable sites?
It is a dream for me to do so!!! Hope one day, when my children will be older, I am going to do something similar. I'm jealous!!!

No, I've had one week with night duties and the kids had one week off from school - so I've tried filling the week with daytime activities, including visits to local island nearby Oslo :-) I'm quite stuck in Oslo, it seems like.

Understood, so you are going with all the "army" there, kids included... You are my hero... How old are they?

Well ... I'm trying, and sometimes we have fantastic experiences together, but I sometimes I just give up, sometimes I consider it a great success if I can get one of the children with me on activities.

The oldest is 13, and wants nothing but playing computer games. I can't force him and I can't overtell him, he does what he wants, and that's not boat life - "internet is too slow" he says. At least I managed to get him to Korketrekkeren Wednesday. Previous summer we sailed around Denmark, and one time at the west coast he was complaining that he was fed up with all the waves and rather wanted to continue by bike. So we found a harbour, we threw him out together with the bike, and met him again at the next harbour :-)

The two youngest and my wife were all together on the boat from Thursday to Friday, at Ytre Vassholmen, but I failed engaging the rest of the family, they were too happy staying in the boat playing computer games and watching films, didn't care getting out walking with me :-( My wife thought it was a bit too harsh sleeping in 1C in the boat, so she left with my 4 yrs old daughter and I was alone with my middle son, 7 years old.

I did manage to get him out for some few short walks Friday, but not much really - and then he had an accident, his trouser got wet, and he couldn't join for more walks that day.

Saturday after school I was alone - well, I can say I went exploring a bit first so that I know what to do when coming back with the kids later.

Yeah... I can imagine, the older they are, the harder it is to take them for a walk, specially now that they have internet, computers, nintendo and the like...
I have two children, my daughter is 11 and my son 7... I'm keeping insisting to do hiking, sports, camping and walks but I recognise is getting more and more difficult.
I'm sure they will appreciate in the future all our efforts for discovering the wold.
Keep posting great content dude!

Absolutely - I think it's important for them to get a bit out and explore the world. At least I'm quite happy that he took initiative to go biking in Denmark - even though he didn't talk much of it I'm sure it must have been an experience for life, for the first time navigating completely alone in a foreign country. Hm. Maybe not the first time. He's been getting lost, several times - first time he was maybe two or three years old, and we lost him at the Tiananmen Square - he saw an ice cream booth, we didn't pay attention for some few seconds and .... gone in the crowd! We spent more than an hour searching for him - we were terrified!

More recently, some few years ago on our first visit to Copenhagen, he just got angry and left us, and went back to the boat. We had just been biking from Refshaleøen to the mermaid, he biking behind following us. We estimated the probability that he would find the way back to the boat to be near zero. We were terrified - lost him in Copenhagen! Probably his phone was left behind charging at the boat, or it wouldn't have been much of a problem. We went to the police to report the loss, but there was a big queue outside the police station. Finally I went back to the boat while my wife was still queuing up for the police ... and guess what, he had found the way back to the boat perfectly on his own! Amazing.

Thinking about the sea always comes summer. but with this article and photographs I understand that it will be beautiful in the winter of the sea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34