Sort:  

Ah, I was thinking of Aker Brygge in late winter, and it's very obviously an inflatable. (duh)
You know what, the very word dhingy made me think/remember a tiny wooden, snub-nosed well, dhingy like those of past times. But that's OK we all live in an illusory world (Maya) and under delusion (Moha).

English is not my native language, but to me, "dhingy" basically means "small boat", possibly but not necessary one used together with a bigger boat. Seems like Wikipedia agrees with that, and the word itself comes from Hindi/Bengali/Urdu.

Oh, good research there. Not surprising that it started out as a foreign word. The British likely introduced it into the language from their colonial headquarters in Calcutta, Bengal.

It's also a fact that the human mind confuses name and form and usually misses the forest for the trees.

I have a rather strong thought-form for that word, of tiny wooden row boats used for shuttling people and goods from ship to shore and vice-versa. Partly I think they were so tiny because wooden boats are damn heavy! And they had to hoist it aboard all the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58913.67
ETH 2640.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42