You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: De Beurtveer – the people behind the sails [BLOG]

in #sailing6 years ago

Wow this post is so exciting. I'm glad that you shared it with us because I rarely get to read a sailing experience. You mentioned that the Overwinning is built in 1914? Is this true, because that is such a long time ago. I am surprised about it, is it normal for ship to be this old? Sorry I have no knowledge about sailing.
                     
Congratulations for your curie vote, totally deserve it :).

Sort:  

thanks scrawly :) I always feel honored if curie vote for me :)) and yes the Overwinning is that old. In the Netherlands it is common to have boats this old. Check my post about the Goudem Bodem that I linked in the blog post - this is the boat I was sailing the past 2 years and it is even older. I am glad I could show you some little things about the sailing world :)

all the best
R.

I see! That is fascinating. It's good I guess to keep using old boats, after all they are still very functional. Is there no difference though, between old and new ones? Can they sail as fast as each other, or is the new one much faster? Sorry for asking multiple questions lol, I'll stop now.

@scrawly

there are a lot of differences between old and new boats, but traditions want to be lifted :) the shapes of the hull, the layout, the materials... everything is different on these old boats but with money you can bring them closer together.

If you spend a lot of money you can have something like the overwinning :-P I think this ship sails equally fast as a modern yacht but in general: new build yachts are faster than traditional sailing ships.

keep the questions coming - no a problem what so ever :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50