You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: De Beurtveer – the people behind the sails [BLOG]

in #sailing6 years ago

Was that you on the first photo? Oh my, how could you have kept your balance without falling into the water?! Did you just get lucky that the wind did not move the sail? 😃

That sounds like a very interesting race. Who hosts the race, by the way? Is there anyone from the organizers joining every ship to watch that no cheating is done on the motors? Or is there any device tracker to do that?

Wow, you won in spite one having one man less than your expected manpower. Congratulations! 😊

Sort:  

Yeah, that was me on the first photo :). Since I do sail almost all year I am used to do these sort of "stunts". The wind was calm, the weather was good and my balance is great as well... so I dont drop into the water... and even take my camera with me :)

to be honest, I do not have too much information about the organizers of these races but for the next post I will include what I can find - that was a good call from you!

None of the organizers is on board but all the ships have an automatic identification system which sends the location and various infos about the boat (speed, heading.. etc) to a webpage where the race is monitored :)

glad you like that post macoolette :)

fair winds,
R.

Ah, since you're used to those stunts then maybe you can try cartwheel on that sail boom next time. I would love to see a video or at least a gif photo. 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56