Introducing myself

in #sailing5 years ago (edited)

Been lurking here long enough so I guess it is time to introduce myself.
My name is Geert, which is a typical Dutch name in the North of the Netherlands were I grew up. A quiet area with woods and meadows, far from the crowded cities and still one of my favourite places on this planet.

Being the son of a ships captain I grew up with the sea and ships and due to all the stories from my father places like Singapore, New York, or Mombassa were just as familiar to me and my sisters as all the Dutch cities closer to our home. The world is a small planet and borders are hardly more then a minor nuisance. We are all one, inhabitants of this world, and it is high time we set aside all these nonsensical notions of race or nationality. The more you travel around this world the more you realize people are in essence the same everywhere you go.
As the son of a seafarer it did not take long before I followed in my fathers footsteps and sailed out into the ocean.

All the places I knew from my fathers stories soon became home to me as well and I made friends all over the world, always eager to hear new stories and discover new cultures and new insights in human nature. In those days it was still normal to remain 2 or sometimes 3 weeks in each port and there was always lots of time for sightseeing. An adventurous time as a youngster!
Even when I was on leave at home, I missed the sea and when other class mates bought themselves a home I bought myself a sailing yacht and just continued exploring the world, swearing I would never settle down. The world became my home.

Although my mother and sisters are still living in Holland the country itself soon became just another place on the globe and I frequently changed my home town. The world is such a wonderful place and there were friends everywhere. I could not imagine anyone could remain in one place for long but everyone gets older and after happy times in Taiwan, New Zealand, and Brazil I finally settled down in Thailand, where I have now been living with my wife, 3 children, and two dogs for the past twelve years. A small village in the north east, very far from all crowded tourist resorts and a place which strongly resembles the little dutch village I grew up in. Maybe in the end we all turn back to our roots.

The sailing yacht has been replaced by the bike but the camera is still there as I make long journeys through the surrounding country side seeing something new every day. And although I have finally settled down I am still traveling all around the globe, as captain on the very big container ships. Even after 41 years, the sea never loses its magic and I still enjoy this job even if it takes me away from my family for many long months each year.

Apart from sailing and photography my hobbies include astronomy and spaceflight as well as writing (amazon carries several novels by me, both in dutch and english). Life is too short and we need to make the most of it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It sounds like you have an interesting life and I'm looking forward to reading about your adventures all over the world. Or maybe how you manage to live in such a different culture :)

Welcome to Steemit! It's nice to have you here! If you will be posting about your travels you can choose hashtags such as travelfeed for other travel enthusiasts to see your posts. Or you can pin your posts to Steemitworldmap for even better exposure. You can also join some discord communities and find people with similar interests.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. It's not that easy to navigate around here so some questions are actually expected :)

I'm sure you'll find new friends here and you'll have a lot of fun!

Have a great weekend!

Goedemorgen Geert, van uit regenachtig Rotterdam
Welkom op steemit en leuk je Te ontmoeten
Ik Zal de intro Verder in English doen.
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you.
Blogging is what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money.
I have been here for a while and love it!
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !! They are yours.
For safety tips visit the white paper.

The Steemify App I use is also great, it is available in the Appstore and free, you can See Whats happening in your account. https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote

Also Appics and Steepshot are handy apps and Free. I wish you good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated and if you have questions let me know.
We (@xcountytravelers and I ) are presenting New comers in Our @Heyhaveyamet blogs, and There is a Discord called SteemTerminal for newbies and All questions, join in, I am on steemit everyday ! You can always leave a comment.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands


Welcome to Steemit @geertsassen!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Hello @geertsassen, welcome to the steemit platform. Hopefully you will grow and reach what you want here. Greetings from me @anroja, if there are questions please contact me. Don't hesitate to follow me.

Posted using Partiko Android

u r welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

Great first post! You are going to do well here. Awesome rainbow too. Now following!

u r wlecome

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome geertsassen!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to the steemit community @geertsassen!
We sincerely hope you find all that you are looking for here, and have found a new home.
I found this post because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie at @heyhaveyamet promoted your post to help you grow quicker, and should you have any questions or need some guidance, you can go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy steeming!

Welcome to Steem! looking forward for your stories :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48