You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Laura Dekker Sailed Around The World At 15 In Defiance Of Her Own Government

in #sailing7 years ago

I checked out your catalogue site and came here from there. Thought you might like to know it is useful - and I have bookmarked it.

I also wish I had known of Laura's journeys while she was sailing. Does she still sail? I find the courage of her father also amazing. If I had a young child, son or daughter, I'm not certain I would have the courage to stand behind her/him and do what I can so that he/she lives their life on their own terms.

It was amusing to read of the warnings about pirates, when nowadays, the threat from terrorists in the Nederlands are far worse.

Sort:  

Oh - thanks so much. I'm glad to know that catalog is working. Even though "the blockchain lives forever" the tags don't seem to reference old posts for more than a few weeks and I wanted some way to keep things together.

As far as I know Laura is still sailing, but not professionally. I think she returned to New Zealand after her round the world voyage and lives there now. I heard that she's working with a suicide prevention charity to help desperate teenagers in New Zealand, which has one of the highest teen suicide rates in the world.

She's a real inspiration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54