Excited about building a personal safety network on Cell 411.

in #safety7 years ago

IMG_2011.JPG

Just now really sitting down and checking out the features of the Cell 411 mobile app. It's blowing my mind and has me feeling so happy right now. I love this like I love the privacy of encrypted chat servives. I love being able to stream videos that can't be deleted.

I LOVE FEELING LIKE I DON'T NEED TO SACRIFICE MY RESPONSIBILITY FOR MY OWN SAFETY TO PEOPLE (state agents/politicians)WHO AT THE END OF THE DAY DO NOT GIVE A SHIT ABOUT ME OR MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY.

Basically, Cell 411 is a kind of personalized safety network you can build with your contacts, so when something happens (you get pulled over, there is a medical emergency, a robbery, cops are trying to search you, etc) you can alert everyone in your circle with the push of a button. You can connect the app to your Facebook page so that when there's an emergency and you hit the button, a post will automatically be made on your Facebook profile for all your friends to see.

One of the coolest features is the fake delete button. When you've taken video, and your phone has been confiscated or stolen, a fake delete button will show up and record whoever tries to push it (cops, assailants, etc) and then restore the video you took next time you log in. If I am not mistaken the live streams are all stored on Cell 411's servers and can be sent to other platforms as well, so that if you are getting fucked around by the cops or whomever, you won't be alone in that hell, and you can issue a call for help.

The situation alert buttons are myriad, presenting the opportunity to alert your circle of friends, family, and acquaintances of many emergent situations:

  • CRIMINAL ACTIVITY
  • MEDICAL ATTENTION
  • I AM PULLED OVER
  • POLICE INTERACTION
  • POLICE ARREST
  • I AM IN DANGER

And, perhaps the most important: "STUFF ON FIRE" :) :) :)


In all seriousness, though, this app kicks ass. We should ALL be more responsible for our own safety. We SHOULD NOT have to wait for police who will be there too late, or may even make the situation worse. We can protect each other. Isn't that beautiful.

If you are in Japan and want to join my Cell 411 circle, please let me know. You can find me on there as Graham Smith.

Cheers.

Sort:  

Sounds pretty cool!

I know the founder and CEO of that app, Virgil Vaduva. I'm trying to get him and others to come to Steemit! I use the app and am a strong supporter of the idea even before I knew Virgil. PeaceKeeper was a competing app, but it lost the battle.

It is related to the app too that I'm a residential security expert, and I'm on here to share what I know to improve people's residential and personal security. If you're interested in such topics, please follow me. I'm also a private investigator, but I won't be sharing much about it to not get people into legal trouble.

Excellent to know. Thank you. Following you now. Cheers.

Thanks! By your name I can tell we have a lot in common, so I'll gladly follow you back as well. :)

great idea; resteemed

Cheers, @stevescoins. I think so too.

Can it be deployed World wide? Especially for Africa?

I've tried using cell411 so many times but it's hard to get friends and family to adopt it. Nonetheless I'm gonna download it once again because it's such a great idea

I run two cells in my area. Barely anyone uses it. Think of it like Steemit compared to Facebook, Google+, and other sites. Sure, most people do not know about this place, but they will soon enough!

Yes, I'm also the type of person to give attention to these new innovative social medias.

I lived in Detroit many years ago, and remember there was a period of time where young children were either being abducted or approached by an adult while walking to school. Community leaders organized a large protest, and hundreds of people spent several hours walking around waving signs and demanding police do something.

And I remember thinking at the time, the police are already doing what they can. It's not like police officers don't care about little kids. So if those parents had spent the same amount of time that they spent waving signs but instead organized themselves so that each neighborhood had a chaperone parent walk the kids to school each day, no more time would have been spent, but they would have actually solved the problem instead of just bitching about it.

Love the idea of creating your own safety net! Even if it's for safety against the publicly available one...

I believe this is the kind of thinking we need in order to make the world a better place for us and the ones that come after us. If we take care of our things instead of waiting for someone else to solve our problems, we could be living a more pleasant life.

It's a mistake to think they do care though. They won't care as much as your neighbors, family, and friends. Why would they? This is a principle building on the old idea of a militia. The entire community was in it, and they looked out for each other. Outside forces just don't care. Their main motto is "go home safely at the end of my shift."

wow amazing app !

Good job it seem to be really good project.

That's a cool thing to have. Even in any situation when your in trouble an wishes to be heard by your personal contact safety net and make them contact whoever can help you.

Hope you don't have to use it on your upcoming Tokyo trip 😅

Be in gang

Get pulled over

Safety button

Fam pulls up and blasts that bullet-collector off his feet

I see this being vilified in no time at all, but it's cool and really would be helpful as a self-policing tool I suppose, as well as a policing police too.

The cops already hate it, but there's nothing they can do about it. We will make them obsolete! Waze is the same way. Cops hate how waze acts like a modern day CB to avoid radar traps.

Interesting tool. What are some of the practical applications of the notifications?

Your neighbors will respond sooner than official government first responders. They won't shoot your children or pets either.

That's a great point! My dogs make me very afraid to have police show up for any reason whatsoever.

There are countless videos and incidents where the police respond and shoot a dog that is only doing what it is supposed to do (defend the home from strangers).

Definitely. I've even seen cases where the dog wasn't even really defending, the cop just had a dog phobia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38