Steemarket Art Contest Submission

in #sac7 years ago

detail 3.jpeg

Thank you @paolobeneforti for creating steemarket and this new art contest! I rarely if ever do contests here but if invited it's hard to resist because it's an honor, so I appreciate the invitation.

My submission is a small glaze painting called RIVERLAND OF THE COSMOS in the category of painting.

River Land of the Cosmos.jpg

6.5 inches x 6.5 inches, 2013
This is a painting on a ceramic surface. I used layers of glaze and then fired it and then added more layers of glaze strategically and fired and repeated until I've created the effect I sought.

For me this piece can be seen as the various abstractions one can see when looking into a rushing river as it hits stones, and is also simultaneously a view of the cosmos. It has both a micro and macro perspective and that is something I find fascinating about life and nature - how it mirrors itself on these levels.

Another 2 details here:

River Land of the Cosmos detail 2.jpg

River Land of the Cosmos detail 1.jpg

I always welcome comments and engagement here, so if you feel moved to please let me know what you think! Thank you as always for supporting my blog.

FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

well that turned out really nicely. Looks awesome!! It looks frosty

thanks @cyberblock, I hadn't thought of "frosty" but I like that perspective a lot!!

Waow - that's stunning - it's like a bacterial colony from a hot spring that's been quick frozen - and then you look again and maybe it's something from space - and suddenly you can see a hundred different interpretations - very purdy.

Lol, I love your interpretations :-))) thank you!

And, btw you have a great blog...I'm now following! Also found a few other steemians you have resteemed who are a wealth of food/health/foraging info :-))

Super!!! Following back - I like your sense of aesthetic. Have been connecting with some great steemians. Currently spending much time agonisingly academicising but hope to spend more time next year when I am free from PhD land to transform my research into more generally communicable bite size pieces and think that Steem could be a great platform for that. errrr, so stay tuned for the long run!!! Can't wait to not live on a time line that goes like "waow - I'll have time for that in a years time".

Sounds like a good plan and whenever you get to it is the "right" time :-). I know many people here think that one has to post frequently but I simply post when I have something of substance to say or show and don't worry about how often that occurs.

lol - yes, those are the people that are focused on the money. I prefer if people only share quality stuff, then my feed will be a joy to peruse! Well done again on your great art!

Wonderful contrast, I can feel the pigments dancing!

Beautiful piece of art.....love the colors and the texture.Keep on posting your artwork and keep giving us visual treats.Upvoted and have started following you.Love and peace :)

Very nice artwork, good pictures and well put together into a post.

Upvoted, and will follow you.

Wow, you are talented! Wish you good luck to the contest!

thanks, how kind of you!

Very interesting solution

Beautiful art. What else can I say. it's such a blessing not everybody have this..
thanks for sharing your amazing art.

Reminds me of a melting bird of paradise

nice image interpretation, thank you!

Wonderful! I love the intensity of colors. Good luck

thank you @jorgevandeperre, glad you like the colors they were fun to create!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14