The Running Project 5k Training Programme Wk 3 Day 3 Update

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

My week of firsts included learning how much is too much and how to recover after a visit to the osteopath.

Mark Leason (below) and I started working together about a year ago. After a couple of days of hip and lower back pain (nothing major, but I thought I should check it out) I booked in to see Mark this morning. I left relieved and with a list of recommendations to help recovery and prevent further injury.


Source: Back to Health Osteopathy Clinic, Leicester - website

Mark explained that my pelvis is swaying and tilting when I'm running, bringing a lot of pressure on the hip joints and exaggerating an already sharp curve in my lower spine. He thought that neither injury was new but the additional walking and running over the past week had aggravated them.

Mark recommended using ice packs until the soreness diminished and gentle walking with smaller steps over the next couple of days. He thought I could try running again on Saturday, but halving what I had done previously and building from there. "But more clams and dead bugs," he said, "you can do those now, if they don't hurt, that's what you need in particular."

IMG_1656.JPG
Source: Back to Health Osteopathy Clinic, Leicester - website

Mark also asked me about me running shoes and recommended that I went to Leicester Running Shop where they would film me running on a treadmill in order to analyse the best shoes for me. I passed the shop on the way home, so I went in to find out more about it.

20180307_121537.jpg
Leicester Running Shop - Run by Runners

I met Ben and, like anyone who is an expert in what they do, he was full of enthusiasm, pulling out shoes and talking about the differences, showing me the treadmill and camera set up and explaining what would happen. It seemed mid-week was the quietest time, so I arranged to come back next Wednesday.

20180307_120939.jpg
Ben of Leicester Running Shop on the treadmill used for gait analysis

It was good that I needed help this soon, so problems are quickly addressed early in the process. Even though I've experienced these injuries, Mark saw improvements from my last visit (about mid-January) especially in my upper back, knees and general well-being. So, a little more slowly, but still moving forward.

20180307_121027.jpg
You can find out more about shoes from @mad-runner

Sort:  

"Running in the snow has its own special qualities - softness, quiet, the white landscape - and it can make you feel like a kid again."
-Claire Kowalchik, The Complete Book of Running for Women

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Check new nominated Running Authors of the week and vote for yours!

I think in my honest opinion, that Leicester Running Shop is a great place where you can find experience for take a good shoes for your problems and for make your work-out, if i need any explanation or elucidation, contact me without uncertainty, i'm at your arrangement

Thank you, that is very kind.

Of nothing, i'm glad of be helpful

Hope you're on the mend soon @shanibeer... I can totally relate to back issues 😌

Thank you, I'm sure everything will be fine, it's the first steps about adjusting 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54