The Running Project 5k Training Programme: Week 2 Results

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

A week of firsts: first pre-hab, first walk to run, first ten minute run, first Sunday run.

Sunday Morning Run

20180304_100108.jpg
Misty Sunday morning thaw after freezing weather. Temperature was about 3 degrees at 10am.

Envious of Saturday walks by the sea and Sunday runs, I was determined to have a weekend outing myself. A feedback comment from @cstrimel pinged onto my last #runningproject post with perfect timing, propelling me out of bed on a gloomy, damp morning.

After two cups of tea, a banana and fifteen minutes pre-hab, I headed out. Other runners were already about, two pacing themselves on the other side of the road. A fast runner in singlet and shorts, a couple, another lone runner swaddled in many layers, two women runners. I wondered if I would get to know them all.

The Route

20180304_100542.jpg

I turn left at the entrance, walking up the hill to the path just north of the rectangular carp pond, where I turn east and then right across the terrace of Beaumont House, through the woodland borders to the limestone garden, and then down the long drop of the central paths to the meadow, west through the arboretum and north up Holly Walk to the exit.

The Run

20180304_101325.jpg

This is a beautiful vine-covered walkway running north of the carp pond to the junction with the first north-south path. I wanted to get past it on the run because it is one of the few places with flags rather than asphalt and, with the thawing snow, slippy underfoot. I decided I was going to start running from here and see how far I got before I would have to start walking.

I was running slowly, I found I could easily cover the distance where I had taken my first few running spurts on Friday. I reached the drop by the limestone garden and headed down to the meadow. As I approached the turn westwards, where the gradient started to go uphill, I wondered if I would be able to keep going. I could. I turned into Holly Walk, a steeper gradient, could I go all the way to the exit? I could.

I looked at the time: eleven minutes after I had taken the photograph of the covered walkway. I was breathing heavily, but not excessively, I could have held a conversation if someone had been there to tell how pleased I was with myself. I rested at the gate for a couple of minutes before walking to the shop to get some smoked fish for breakfast. I had to make do with fishcakes, but you can't have everything. Not on the first Sunday, anyway.

IMG_1643.JPG

Weekly Summary

DayRunPre-hab
MondayRest
Tuesday30 mins Walk45 mins Squats Alphabets Side-Steps Bridges Clams Dead-Bugs Pointers
WednesdayRest - very tired, in bed by 8.30pm, slept until 6.45am
Thursday45 mins As Above plus modified Plank and Alphabets without the stretchy bands
Friday40 mins walk to run
SaturdayRest - very tired, a lovely nap for an hour in the afternoon
Sunday83 mins, 10 running15 mins Squats Dead-Bugs Clams
Sort:  

You're taking seriously! Well done!

Thank you. I'm enjoying it. Great idea, great coach!

Well done @shanibeer... I was just wondering whether you also have a pedometer - not that it matters but just curious.

Somewhere, I've got a fitbit. I was thinking today I should get it out. The problem with it is that it always ends up going through the wash.

This is great !! keep up the good work :-)

Oh I’m just all smiles reading this. Isn’t it fun to feel pleased with yirself?! :). It sounds like you’re doing great. I don’t have any specific feedback based on this report, but I will say it’s helpful to see your weekly summary in one place like that. Keep it up!

Thank you. Your advice to tell myself to use as little energy as possible really helped. I felt comfortable setting off slowly and taking my time, not feeling that I had to rush. It felt good just to be moving.

"Running in the snow has its own special qualities - softness, quiet, the white landscape - and it can make you feel like a kid again."
-Claire Kowalchik, The Complete Book of Running for Women

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Check new nominated Running Authors of the week and vote for yours!

Well done and welcome to the family, it starts slow, but before you know i, you'll go further and faster. That's how i started a few years ago.

Thank you for the support, appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41