Running Project 5k Training Programme: Week 4 Training PlansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

Customises the generic recommended training plan to my personal circumstances as a beginner runner.

Transition is the theme this week, from the early weeks of "getting used to a new routine and building up a foundation of stability, flexibility and strength to logging some focused mileage and more continuous running."

20180304_100458.jpg

Reflections

What I think I've been doing over the past three weeks:

  • overcoming my inhibitions about running and opening up to the sheer pleasure of it.
  • shoe-horning running into my life, re-organising what I want to keep, dumping the rest.
  • learning about myself, what I can do, how much recovery I need, how to self-care.

Observations

I've not quite found my starting place yet. I've felt nadgy and sensitive since my last run on Sunday, not in pain, but I could be if I don't take care. I'm going to drop back a little in the running, allow myself a little more recovery time and find the place where I'm not sensitive and nadgy a day or two later.

But as the theme this week is about increasing intensity, I'm going to increase the intensity in the pre-hab sessions: more repetitions, holding each one for longer, building over the week.

I've already noticed that my sleep quality and quantity has increased over the past three weeks, along with improved mood. There's quite a lot of temptation to do more rather than stay with the plan, which is one of the reasons I'm setting it out.

Training Plan

DayRunPre-hab
MondayRestRest
TuesdayRest20 minutes - stride technique, posture, balance, 20 squats, 15 x 5 seconds clams, 10 x 5 seconds dead bugs
Wednesday40 minutes walk run 5 x 4 minute cycles: 1 minute run, 3 minutes walking20 minutes as above increasing reps by two-five.
ThursdayRest (60 minutes walking in London)Rest
Friday40 minutes walk run adjusted according to outcome of last run, technique dayas Wednesday.
SaturdayRestRest.
Sunday40 minutes walk run adjusted according to outcome of last runas Friday.
Sort:  

The rest and recovery time is really important. I got way to enthusiastic when I started training and pushed really hard. So I've had lots of pain and injuries to work through.

You would think I would learn from that huh? But no-one ever accused me of being a smart man.

I'm about to kick into a punishing training cycle that will either break me or.... who am I kidding? it WILL break me hehehehe

Hello and thank you for commenting. It is only recently that I became aware of the relationship between challenging yourself to do more and rest and sleep. Coach Craig (@cstrimel) talks about this in the training plan this week, and I also read about it as part of the coverage of Roger Bannister's death a few weeks ago. And that's when everything's okay!

I was laid low with an infection for six weeks just before the start of the programme, and I've had a recurrent problem with my right hip (one of the many reasons for thinking about taking up running in the first place), so I'm starting from an additionally weakened place.

It is so easy to get over-enthusiastic, I agree, and I see can how it happens, but let's hope we all make it without getting (too) broken!

Your a model student 👩‍🎓 @shanibeer. Good for you to detect that you might need to cut back a little based on the nadgy-ness (that’s a new term for me :). You’re probably on top of this, but it could also be a sign of dehydration. Some new stretchy band exercises you can add to keep the variety up:

  1. Monster walks: band around ankles, standing in a squat position, walk forward then back ward. Be careful as this one can induce some back fatigue.
  2. Upright front walks and back walks. For this one, move your one foot forward a step, and then bring the other foot back to the same spot as the first, and alternate. (Unlike monsters where you just take “normal” steps.
  3. No band — caterpillars: stand in place and touch your fingers to the ground by only bending at the waist. Then slowly walk your hands out in front until you are in a plank position, then do a push up, and then slowly walk your feet back until you are back to the starting “toe touch” position. Repeat 5 times, and build to 10. This one is hard, and takes some practice.

I just did both the band walks yesterday, and caterpillars (we call them inchworms, too--same thing!) on Monday. Great stuff Coach C!

I like the monster walks but I'm having trouble co-ordinating myself for the second one!

OMG. We call them inchworms too! Doh.

Haha, well it's like everything else--there are so many different names for the same moves! 😜

Thanks. Dehydration is a good point, I'll pay more attention to that.

Nice work taking the time to follow the plan to your needs and listen to your body! It's always wonderful to see when people have other positives from incorporating a program like this--like the better sleep and more energy. Keep it up!

Thank you, I'm enjoying it. Eating is better, too, but I'll write about that another time.

Your post shanibeer is very good and I like it.

I will follow you, you can check my article about Pemandangan sore and give me your feedback!

My article Pemandangan sore

Keep it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46