Running Project - 59 Year Old Hurdler

in #runningproject6 years ago

I went out for a trail run along the Patapsco River last evening just before sunset. And I met a little friend along the way.

986AE4DC-B498-487D-B2CD-B820DCEFCFE7.jpeg

It was a an out and back run along the river trail and I turned around at about 1.3 miles so I would be sure to get back before it got dark.

1B1EBECC-7E56-499C-89E1-05E52A8BD5F0.jpeg

About 50 yards after I turned around I saw my little friend pictured above curled up in the middle of the trail. I saw him at the last second and hurdled over him to keep from stepping on him. It quickly occurred to me that I must have run right over him a few minutes before without stepping on him. A running friend of mine had been bitten by a copperhead earlier in the year so my heart was racing pretty hard having narrowly missed stepping on this snake twice. I imagine the first spike in the chart below was when I saw him and then my heart rate dropped when I stopped to go back and take the photo.

1858B7CC-ACCA-4FA9-9AE6-1C1D87763EB7.png

CC0BC142-1228-4A31-948C-D874B10D1CFF.jpeg

6AA508D2-7D0E-470D-B683-4D2EE6079728.jpeg

After I got home, I went online and looked up snakes in Maryland and learned that what I hurdled was the non-venomous Northern Watersnake, not the venomous Eastern copperhead. It certainly gave me something to think about on future trail runs, but it certainly won’t keep me off the trails. Happy hump day everyone!

C81ADC7E-9136-4968-A897-35196960C0ED.jpeg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

I think my heart rate would have also shot up, and then I would have had to go change my shorts!! This is why I prefer running on trails in the winter, haha. Glad you made it away unscathed and that this one wasn't venomous. :)

Thanks. On the bright side I got my heart rate up!

That would sure get the heart racing!

It certainly did!

I have been deathly afraid of snakes for a very long time. Anytime we would go hiking I was terrified of coming across a snake. Then it happened, we were filming and decided to go to one of the islands at Martin Creek Lake State Park in Texas. Heading back we were chatting away when we hear a hiss. Looking down at the path there it was, a copperhead spread out just sunning himself in the warm spring sun. I was stepping over him and Scott almost stepped on him. I took off and ran, leaving my poor husband behind to find for himself.

What did he do? You guessed it, he took a photo.

DSC02295.jpg

Guys always have to get the photo! 😁

wow, very big, wonderful catch. keep your good health, God bless you. ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99