Marathon Post #9 #runforsteem

in #running6 years ago

IMG_0812.JPG
a Hill I had a to climb several times last week

Circumstances required me to make slight adjustments

Last Saturday my son got ill again and I think he affected me, for that reason I was unable to go into work and I had to do my runs in a different environment as I was used to.

The weather was alright last week, still cold but it’s slowly getting warmer and I also feel that I’m getting used to the regular runs. This was my second week that I ran Wednesday, Thursday & Friday after each other, followed by an 11 kilometer run on Sunday. That puts me distance-wise back to what I was used to doing before I started my marathon training. Back then I did 2x 8 kilometers and 1x 11 kilometers. However then it was spread out over the week and now it’s 4 runs in the space of 5 days.

On Friday, as it was Easter-Friday, another neighboor was home, so when I texted in our normal group to see if anyone was spontaneously available for a run, I was surprised to see that he replied that he would join. Normally it’s his wife who joins me, so obviously we were a bit slower on Friday than usual.

Here are my runs since my last running post last Sunday:

Wednesday 28.3.

  • Weather: Warm with 11 degress, but raining on and off
  • Distance: 5,03 km
  • Time: 26:29 mins
  • Pace: 5 :16 min/km
  • Training Effect: 3,3
  • Goal: Getting used to running on tired legs

Recap

I had to find a new route in a familiar environment to ensure that I’d do the 5 kilometers, I started off as I would do normally and after 2 kilometers I made a turn to make my way home, it was a bit of a gamble but in the end it turned out that I’d done exactly 5 kilometers. The run itself was more difficult of course as it’s not flat as it is how I do this run normally, but I still managed a good pace and if you compare it to my other last 4 runs on this distance you see that the average pace was also very good, despite the circumstances.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-29 um 17.26.37.png

Thursday 29.3.

  • Weather: Cold, windy and raining on and off
  • Distance: 6,03 km
  • Time: 32 mins
  • Pace: 5:18 min/km
  • Training Effect: 3,6
  • Goal: Getting used to distances

Recap

Again I had to find a new course to do the 6 kilometers, so I decided on taking a little risk as I know my neighbourhood pretty well now. This risk payed off as you can see, the total distance was exactly 6,03 kilometers without having to run in circles. That’s something I really want to avoid. The weather made it a bit harder today and I felt a bit sore from the day before, but I’m happy with the overall result. In the end it’s not just about the time but also to remain running and not to stop, which I manage to do until now.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-03-29 um 17.25.42.png

Friday 30.3.

  • Weather: Cold and foggy with a bit of wind
  • Distance: 5,02 km
  • Time: 28:15 mins
  • Pace: 5:38 min/km
  • Training Effect: 3,1
  • Goal: Getting used to running on tired legs by running short distances several days after one another

Recap

This was the third run in a row. It promised to get warmer today, but as we had Pesach/Passover plans I couldn’t run too late and due to a fog that was hanging in our area it took a long time before the temperature started to rise. We finally set off when it was about 4 degrees, but when we came back it had already risen to about 7 degrees. By now I had my 5 kilometer distance in my head, but as I was running with a new person, I had to adjust myself to him. That was good as I was a bit sore from my previous runs and the cold didn’t help me ease into running today.

Obviously my slowest run, but that’s fine under the circumstances and I didn’t force anything, so a good result overall.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-04-01 um 12.41.59.png

Sunday 1.4.

  • Weather: 4 degrees with strong winds and fresh rains from the night before on our paths
  • Distance: 11,01 km
  • Time: 64 mins
  • Pace: 5:51 min/km
  • Training Effect: 4,0
  • Goal: the long Sunday run, preparing for the distance

Recap

My usual running partner was back again, but he felt a bit unfit, so I had to hold back. In the beginning I had a bit of trouble as I spoke more than usual whilst we made our initial climb and I had slight sores from running-tiredness. At that time he was still alright, but as I found my pace, he started to struggle keeping up and most of the way I was about half a length ahead of him. However as I had to hold back, that was the best thing that could happen to me as that made the run easier. We never stopped and I got a solid 11 kilometres in my legs after the 3 consecutive runs during the week.

Bildschirmfoto 2018-04-01 um 12.40.26.png

Here are my last 4, midweek runs in comparison with one another:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-04-01 um 12.45.18.png

Here are my last 4, Sunday runs in comparison with one another:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-04-01 um 12.44.16.png

Conclusion

The fact that I'm taking it slower than my schedule prescribes and the fact that I'm adjusting when I run with different people, helps me take it easy and deal with the difficulties of running so often. The little pains and tiredness are barely noticeable when I adjust to other/slower people. Now I have 2 days rest before I start again and if I feel well enough then next Sunday I'll do my longest run to date with 14 kilometers ... stay tuned!

Are you a runner?

If you're a runner or want to start running after my posts and want to connect with other runners to share experiences, ask for tips and/or advice, join us on our discord chat by following this link.

For those of you that still haven't heard of the @runningproject or its bot @isotonic, if you're a runner and want to be rewarded, join our community. It's easy and quick and the 1 SBD or Steem is earned back in no time as you get an upvote on EACH post, not just the ones about running.

Another way to get rewarded is by joining the #runforsteem challenge from @jumowa.

I look forward to hearing your advice, responses, encouragements, feedback and comments.

Keep running and stay fit!

Doron

!steemitworldmap 47.334180 lat 8.386726 long Oberwil-Lieli, Aargau D3SCR

Sort:  

Good week! You are starting to get stronger...

Yes, I'm noticing it. The best feeling is being satisfied for running on tired legs, I wonder what it feels like when I'm really starting to cover distances.

Thanks for sparing your week! Seems like a good one.

Yes, great feeling of satisfaction now!

Nice job getting it all in! Looks like you are progressing at a healthy pace, so keep on trucking! :)

Thanks for your support, it really helps and I feel I'm getting stronger. Before long I'll be ready for the biggest challenge of my life.

Fine running week - well done!

Thank you!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wolfje
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=marathon-post-9-runforsteem


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

“Dwell on the beauty of life. Watch the stars, and see yourself running with them.”
― Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Vote for your Running Author of the Week 10!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20