How Do You Motivate Yourself to Run on Days When You Don't Feel Like It?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #running6 years ago

Do you ever go through spells when you just don't want to run? And other times you can't wait to get out and run wild.

I go through this often and wanted to throw it out there to get advice from the community.

I wanted to share a few things that work for me, and I would love to learn what works for you.

So for the past few years I've been going through various training seasons for different races (mostly marathons), but as of the past year I've been working my way into ultramarathons. The training takes a lot out of me (physically, emotionally, mentally).

There are just some days that I do not want to run. A mentor once told me to always look for ways to improve. Even if it is a very small amount. If you make it a point to grow at least 1% daily, you will grow exponentially over time. Always LEARN from success and failure. So needless to say, I've failed many times but I try to learn from each one. With that being said, here's a few of my favorite ways to motivate myself to run on days where I just don't want to.

  1. Set a goal and create a plan. Create a vision for what you are doing. When you know exactly what you are working towards, there is little room for ambiguity. Just set a concrete goal and work towards obtaining it. Goal setting is very effective for defining an outcome. Make sure you goal is specific, measurable, and time bound.

  2. Create a massive WHY. This is huge. Emotion can be a powerful tool. Create an emotional reason WHY you are doing this. One thing that really works for me is that I find a way to involve my wife and children in my running. I know running will make me healthier so I can live longer. It will make me more energetic and full of vitality so I can play with my kids. I know it sets a great example for them. And it allows me to express myself through sports. Your WHYs will vary, but attach something emotional to your reason. That way it can pull you toward your goal instead of having to push your way there.

  3. Create some form of accountability. If you have no one to hold you accountable, it can be very easy to let yourself slide and skip a workout. Accountability can come in many forms. You can find a running partner or group, you can have a friend hold you accountable by sending them a snapshot of your run, you can ask for accountability on social media, or.... if you really want some added accountability, create some type of system where you have to pay a certain amount of money for each run you miss.

  4. Create incentives and rewards. All work and no play ain't no fun. You work hard getting those miles in so naturally you should reward yourself every now and then. What gets rewarded gets repeated!

  5. Join a community or group. When I first started running I was a lone wolf. I ran for about two years by myself before I found out there was a fantastic running community in my town. Once I joined the group I made lots of new friends, relationships, and running partners. It really added a new level of enjoyment to running. Now these new friends and acquaintances help me take my running to the next level, encourage me, and support me along the way.

  6. Short term motivation. Sometimes you just need a quick jolt of motivation. Listen to something inspirational or motivational. I have a YouTube video that I listen to on those days I just don't want to run. It gives me that little amount of motivation to get going. Here's the video in case you need an extra spark today:

Last but definitely not least... HAVE FUN. Enjoy yourself out there. Remember, the pain is just temporary. It is a blessing to be able to get out and move across your city, town, or neighborhood on your feet. Feel the air. Take in your surroundings. Feel alive.

I really hope you found some value in this post. Let me know some of your ways to motivate yourself to run on those days that you don't feel like it. I'm a student of the game and love learning from like-minded individuals!

Follow me on Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14654723

Sort:  

Great post! I use most of those for my overall motivation and I’m planning on ya all building a cohesive running community here.

There are many days where I just don’t want to go. The only thing I’ve figured out to get my ass out the door is I remind myself that no matter how I feel right now, I’ll feel better about everything while and after I run.

We may train or peak for a certain race, but running is a lifetime sport.
Alberto Salazar

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Don’t forget to “Vote your Running Author of the Week”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65900.16
ETH 3470.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68