My Journey To A Great North Run 1hr25 (Day 1)

in #running6 years ago (edited)

day1.jpg

So the Great North Run is in September and I have decided to really go for it this year hoping to get anywhere near 1 hour 25 minutes.

I last ran this a couple years ago in a time of 1 hour 40 minutes, so have lots of training to do. Though last time my training was no where near what it will be like this time.

I have been running for about 4 years now and class myself to be an above average runner, but I have never really pushed myself, or been consistent.

My PB's are as follows:
1 mile - 5 mins 50 secs
5k - 19 mins 30 secs
10k - 43 mins 45 secs (most likely a bit quicker now as never raced one for a couple years)
HM - 1 hour 40 mins

I do have a 5k race at the end of March, so will have a much better idea where my fitness is at. And my current training is concentrating more on this at the moment.

So I will be logging my every day training, as hopefully it will encourage me to train better, harder, and more consistent come rain or shine (though most likely rain at the moment)

I will always put a link to my strava activity at the bottom, unless I use the treadmill, which I use a couple times a week for little recovery runs.

So anyway, I may as well start off with today's run....

Day 1:
So today was an easy run as I had a harder session yesterday.
9 miles at a 8:45 pace. It took a few miles to get in to it, but felt pretty good at the end.

Strava link:
https://www.strava.com/activities/1397631950

...back tomorrow.

Sort:  

wow 1 mile in 5:50! impressive! i love running but im no good at it, me and my husband just go out and run around our neighborhood but keep it up! i would love to see some good pictures from your run!

Will see what I can do, thanks.

Yeah, a sub-20 5K is above average.

I look forward to reading about your progress!

Thanks, never done this kind of thing before (blogging), so will try and keep it interesting :)

Consistency is the most important thing to finding your voice.

And being active in the community is the most important part of being rewarded... both financially and emotionally.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65