Stepping out in Winter Gear

in #running7 years ago (edited)

Stepped out for a shortish run this evening, just under 4.5 miles. I'm pretty much tapering as I have a race on Sunday. By tapering I mean I've reduced the total volume of my running and cut out some of the more intensive training I've been doing recently, such as hill reps and tempo runs.

My average pace is a lot faster than a few months ago. I averaged 8:41 minute miles. In the not so distant past, I would have been clocking 10 minute miles for a run like this! Alongside this, my cadence has increased. I actually worked hard to purposely change my cadence as biomechanically, a faster foot turnover forces a better running style by preventing overstriding. At one point, over the summer, I was listening to a metronome app through my headphones on my runs, trying to keep my feet in time with 175 bpm. This increased my foot cadence from a lethargic average in the 150s, to the 173 you see in tonight's run.

Thought I'd also give you a heads up about gear. As you can see, it is getting pretty chilly. I'm based in Manchester, in the UK and winter is making itself very known. Bodes well for Sunday's race!

I wore a pair of Nike tights. I run in shorts pretty much all year around but when the temperature starts to creep close to zero, I like to cover my legs if I'm not running all out.

I have a few pairs of these and have had them for years. They last forever! I'm sure other brands are good too, but I've no complaints with Nike.

I also wore a Mizuno gilet for protection against the chill. This is a fairly recent purchase but it's working out pretty well. It is ridiculously light and traps just enough heat on a night light tonight to see off the chill.

Other than that, I just ran in a technical t-shirt, one of many picked up from races (can't remember the last time I bought a running t-shirt!), and of course my trainers. I'm running in Nike Air Zoom Structure and have been all of this year. Mainly because they were comfortable and pretty cheap as I got last season's model online.

For timing, I'm using my Garmin 235. Pretty great watch but the optical HR monitor can be a little buggy. And, yeah, it's in orange so it's extra awesome.

That's it about all I need. How do you roll when you're running?

Sort:  

Congratulations @vee.uye! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51