Round up of the first week of the new training block

in #running6 years ago

I’ve stepped up my training this year to try and really start to perform well in the upcoming ultras. The plan was to run twice a day doing 20kms for each run during the week and then take the weekend off to recover.

So how did the first week go?

Good, and not so good.

When you look at the runs that I did, you could be forgiven for thinking HUGE fail. But I don’t think it is. This was a good first week for me. Here’s why.

Monday

I got two 20km runs in for a total of 40kms. It was pretty warm out there and I wasn’t trying for any speed records, so it was a slow run day. Happy with that.

Tuesday

I got the morning run in, another 20kms, but the evening was a real struggle. We had to hottest day on record since 1927. Yup – we spent the rest of the week under a massive heat wave with record temperatures across the country. It was still way too hot to run in the evening so I only managed 10kms before running out of water.

On a normal day I can run the 20km circuit on about 300mls of water. On this run I had over 600lms of water and I ran out at 10kms. So, pretty hot out there.

Wednesday

Things we still sweltering on Wednesday but I managed to get out in the evening for a slow 20kms. I was feeling very tired and less than enthused, due to lack of sleep and fatigue from the increase in distance. It was too hot to sleep at night and too hot to work during the day. But somehow I managed to get a few hours of each in.

Thursday

The northerly winds were in full force on Thursday, and having struggled to run into them on Wednesday, I opted for a different route. I ran my 18km circuit, which is shorter but with a lot more hill climbing. Those hill help shield me from the wind a bit and get the full distance in without too many problems.

Friday

By Friday the temperature had eased off a bit. It was still hot and summery, but a gentle breeze was enough o make the run tolerable. So I went out in the evening for a 20km run. The morning just weren’t happening for me, as I was still so tired at the start of the day, it was a struggle just to get out of bed.

My total kms for the week was: 134. That’s the most I’ve ever run in one week.

I joined up to a running club on Strava for the WUU2K runners for this year’s race. I’m currently in first place, with some runners probably still working on completing their Sunday runs.

As a start of this training block, I’m happy with my effort. I ran every day, even though it was really hot and I was really tired. I’ve come through the week with no injuries, and after taking the weekend off running, I’m now looking forward to cracking into another week starting tomorrow.

The everyday running, and doubling up the runs should begin to pay some dividends in the next few weeks, and I’m looking forward to seeing what effect this has on my performance.

On January 31st I signed up for the WUU2K once again. I’ll do the 62km distance again this year, and this time I’ll finish the race in daylight. At least that’s what I’m working towards. And if I put in the hard work now, I’m sure to reap the rewards on race day.


Steemit etiquette

  • Do write meaningful comments
  • Do discuss the topic in the post
  • Do tell me about how we share an interest
  • Do take the time and effort to actually read the post before commenting
  • Don't ask for follows
  • Don't ask for votes
  • Don't say you have voted for a post and then not vote for it
  • Don't say you have resteemed a post and not resteem it
  • Don't write short coments like 'Nice post'
  • Do be the sort of person you want reading and voting for your own posts.

Don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the midday sun.
I would have thought that the morning would have been cooler,
take your time, winter is coming, then you will have to run to keep warm.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 200 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79