A hard run up the Tip Track

in #running6 years ago

Last night was a max effort night. So I headed out to the Tip Track so see if I could beat my personal best time, going from the gate at the bottom to the gate at the top.

sunset-2.jpg

I wasn’t really ‘feeling it’ on the way there. My stomach was still way too full from lunch (even though it was already after 4pm). So I wasn’t expecting too much in terms of performance.

I was tempted to just take it easy and do a slow flat run back to my house, but by the time I had decided to do that, I was at the bottom of the Tip Track, and since I was already here…

I headed up the first section, pushing hard and actually did quite well for a bit. I did end up waling a couple of times, but each time it was only for about 20-30 seconds or so (maybe a little longer). Then I’d kick back into the climb, attacking the hill.

I hit the spot in the trail that marks the transition point forth eWUU2K at 30 minutes, and tapped the top gate at 32 minutes.

“Not too shabby” I thought. That was bound o shift me up the leader board on Strava a bit.

I turned and headed back down, slowly because I was a bit knackered by this stage, until the cold wind started to pick up and I decided to get moving faster before it got dark.

The sun set as I ran down the track, making the sky an amazing colour of purple. I stopped and tried to get a photo, but it just didn’t come out as well as it should have. By then it was getting really cold, so I added another layer and carried on down to the bottom.

Then all I had to do was run the 6kms back to my house, in the dark. This as it happens turned out to not be a problem, because I had ordered a new head torch for just this very problem. And it worked well.

sunset-1.jpg

I checked Strava when I got home and I’m now in position 109. So, not as high as I might have hoped.
The record for the climb is just under 19 minutes. So there is a way to go yet before I’ll be challenging that. But at least I am improving, slowly.

This attempt was five minutes faster than my previous best time, and I think I could have gone faster, by going slower (i.e. not walking) and not having a huge lunch beforehand.

Do you have any segments that you are challenging yourself on?


Steemit etiquette

  • Do write meaningful comments
  • Do discuss the topic in the post
  • Do tell me about how we share an interest
  • Do take the time and effort to actually read the post before commenting
  • Don't ask for follows
  • Don't ask for votes
  • Don't say you have voted for a post and then not vote for it
  • Don't say you have resteemed a post and not resteem it
  • Don't write short coments like 'Nice post'
  • Do be the sort of person you want reading and voting for your own posts.

Do you like games?

Check out my Steemit Ultra Marathon game where you can win 20SBD for first place, 10SBD for second and 5SBD for third. Get your virtual running shoes on and get ready to run!


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

Beautiful photos :)

What a beautiful sunset! Yes, I have some Strava segments I like to run regularly. Aiming for a crown during the summer.

Hey @trevor.george
i saw your post its great you should use this service for more upvotes: http://postup4all.cf/

I love the simplicity and freedom of running. A pair of shoes and you are all set to explore new trails.
Rachel Boston

Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 13!
Resteemed by @runningproject

sensational pictures..i will leave this track to you :)

Thanks. There is a nice hill leading out of Fielding towards Halcome that should be runnable...... ;-)

I think a 5 min improvement on your previous attempt sounds like a great achievement 😄

Thanks. It is a bit of progress, and hopefully it means i'm getting stronger uphill. I'm going to need to be in a couple of months when I hit that hill after having run a marathon. ;-)

is it part of a race you're to participate in?

Yes. This is the heartbreaker part of the race. It is about 45kms from the start and you have to run all the way up and back down again. Meanwhile the runners who are doing the 42km version only have to run down this part of the course.

This is a hard hill climb on fresh legs. On legs that have already seen about 2000 metres of climbing, it's a real mission just to walk up it.

I'm hoping that this year I'll actually be able to run at least some of the uphill ;-)

The effort was worth it for the views alone :))

The photos don't do it justice. It was a really amazing sunset.

Nice! Cutting off 5 minutes is a big jump! I just have my eyes on my race on Saturday, but always look forward to finding some new goals after that. :)

Thanks. Best of luck for Saturday. I know you'll do well, and I'm looking forward to reading all about it on Sunday ;-)

Thanks! I'll try to get a quick update out tomorrow after I'm home. We leave for vacation on Sunday, so I'll be enjoying my post-race relaxation time. :)

Congratulations @trevor.george! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38