When the workout goes well... [23/50 #fiftyrunstillmay]

in #running7 years ago (edited)

Yeah!!! this is the face I had when I finished today my workout!!!

And, as you can imagine, it has been a hard but great workout!
After yesterday's 50' of recovery Jog, today I felt ready to face a start of a new workload in view of participating on a competitive 10K race by the end of the year.

Till today I've been "loading" softly, trying to get fit but without damaging myself, falling again on my old injures, a "fascitis" and "groan strain".
That's why, my volume has been reduced from the original 70Km a week I used to run before summer to a not more than 40km a week nowadays but, now, I have to increase both, load and volume.

And to start with, today I had 6 repetitions of 1000m on the athletic track... Resting just 2' and running fast, around 3'30"/km was the selected pace.

Frankly, at the beginning I had my doubts about I would do it so I started cautiously, increasing a little on each repetition. The times a km have been the following:

1st = 3'33"
2nd = 3'32"
3rd = 3'31"
4th = 3'28" (bad!!! I should have maintained 3'30" here :-) )
5th = 3'31"
6th = 3'29"

Looks nice but it cost me a lot... also think that by april this year I was able to run a 10K at the same pace!!!

So, I' still far from my best fit!! But the feelings today have been perfect!!!

Some charts below:

  • pace,Fc vs time.

  • Time in Zones:

Not bad, I run more than 15' above my Lactic threshold!!!!

Keep on running!!!

marco.jpg

@toofasteddie

*FYI and Safety: Please, do not try to repeat this workout exactly as I did if you are not able at least to run faster than 39' on a competitive 10K race. Feel free here to ask me about how to do it and I will try to answer you depending on your current performance and goal expectations.
Running is a healthy activity and gives you lots of satisfactions and energy but first things first and your physical integrity must be your main priority.

Sort:  

Really impressive workout! And you are really precise with your pace, I can't do that yet :)

you will my friend, you will...

Man the last time I ran like that I had 3 cops chasing me. Man I was exhausted.

Nowadays I drive away. Kudos to you bra

hahahahah!!! Thanks man! From time to time, here in Catalonia we used to run as well in front of the Spanish cops

Yes, I guess the training will pay one day :)

70km/week is very impressive. Great work and thank you for posting. I suffer from similar injuries with my running. Achilles tendonitis and groin strain..

Still suffering them or recovered?

I still suffer but can suppress pain with preventative stretching and foam rolling. Do you suggest anything different that keeps you in such good condition for running?

Reduce the volume and fast runs... avoid fast interval runs of 200m on hard pavement...
Foam rolling is fine for the achilles, also cold baths or combinations of 1' warm+1'cold water baths... Groin strain is difficult... Also is a question of educate yourself on running technics, I mean, to have a balanced stride and good step...

I am in the off season for soccer so can reduce fast interval runs for this time. My groin i notice flames up when my stride is too long on a fast run. Thank you Eddie.

Exactly, if the stride is long then your hip suffers...It happened to me because preparing Marathon I changed unconsciously my cadence, from the usual 180 steps per minute to the current 165 or so, enlarging at the same time my stride... It seems to be more economical in terms of aerobical work and so it is, but also you can get easily injured because the force of the impacts are stronger on your hips...

BTW, I used to play soccer as well and, to tell you the truth, I decided to give up since likelihood of get injured playing soccer is huge...not because the physical effort but the impacts you have while playing against other players, sometimes not well trained but willing to play strong...

great workout man @toofasteddie keep running my friend

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations @toofasteddie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice, work out. It'll be good to see how you progress from now until yout 10k

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51