The Last Run...(#runforsteem post)

in #running6 years ago

Yes mates, you read it well...

This has been my last run...

It's a pity but I will be not able run for at least two weeks...

Injured?...sick? eh? nope... I'm not injured neither sick at all...well, a I'm a little bit insane as usual but nothing serious at this level that would not let me running...

Actually there are two problems that prevent me from running.

  • First, I have a business meeting at KOREA this Friday and so I will be travelling abroad from Wednesday early morning to Sunday noon.
  • Second, a a full day Management Training which I have to attend next week, from Monday to Friday, 9-18h, with just 1 hour for lunch...

Normally, wherever I travel for business I used to find 1 hour for running...this time I will not manage, for sure...

Regarding, next week training, someone may say "Ok, no problem, you can go for running earlier or after work!!!" and I would say "No way man, I have two children and a wife that needs me"... That's the case...

So, today I went for running... Since I didn't have any plan I decided for a quiet progressive run along the Barcelona Seaside Promenade and so enjoying of the sunny but windy day.

And that is what I did:

1st Km: 5'37" and 124 bpm of averaged heart frequency
2nd Km: 5'13" and 135 bpm
3rd Km: 4'59" and 142 bpm
4th Km: 4'53" and 142 bpm
5th Km: 4'29" and 144 bpm
6th Km: 4'29" and 148 bpm
7th Km: 4'19" and 152 bpm... suddenly I thought that I was feeling really strong and fast and so, it was a shame to lose a good fit condition, thus I reduced the pace for a minute, taking the decision of running my last kilometer at a very fast pace in order to get empty and be satisfied with myself, being this run the last one for a few days...

8th Km: 3'18" and 169 bpm of averaged Heart Frequency and with a Maximum of 174 bpms

When I finished the last lap I felt well, satisfied, empty...now I can take the following days as a resting time or as a sort of Holidays from running in order to come back with full power batteries in two weeks from now.

At the end of the Running workout, my FENIX 3 was indicating a VO2max value of 60 ml/kg/min, which is not bad for the current level of training I am able to sustain. As usual, the watch also indicates the "usual" times you can achieve related with the current VO2max.

102848E7-FE76-4F0A-911E-5F90F41FA635.JPG

I have to tell that, even if my real BP in 5Km, 10Km and Half Marathon, more or less corresponds to what the watch is indicating, for the Marathon I am far from that time... My best time is 2h54' or 11' more than the watch forecast... I don't think Marathon can be easily correlated with a 5K or 10K race... simply because the things that happen while running a marathon are completely different at a physiological level.

Till here my Last Run post

I hope it has not been so boring ;-)...

Remember, if you want to see more details you can always check my activity:

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2662922697

By the way, this is my post for the #runforsteem challenge which I invite you to have a look and participate, if you still don't, by checking this.



Breathe, Run, Dream, Live...

Keep on running!!!

@toofasteddie, proud member and author/promoter of the @runningproject initiative

Sort:  

That was a busy schedule. Perhaps it'll work as a long taper and you'll get back even stronger. Anyways, have a nice trip and management training!

Thank you! Well, hope you are right and I can come back full of energy 😂

It's always good to take a week or so off here and there to let your body recover fully. For hardcore physical training involving weights and running combined I usually make a point to take at least an easy week ever few months.

I took a business trip to Japan back in 2012 and being 13 time zones off my normal time really messed with me. I did get in a few runs while I was there but I struggled to run an 8:30/ mile pace and a month prior I had just run the Cincinnati marathon in 3:22:40. It was kind of humbling to run so slow but jet lag really takes its toll.

Business trips tend to screw up my running / yoga most of the time so I just take it for what it is. A break from running and a life experience in some cases. Some of my business trips aren't to such interesting places...

Have a safe trip and we look forward to seeing you get back to it soon!

Thanks mate, for the moment everything have been fine...now, after three planes, we have arrived to Korea and we are taking a bus to the city, Ulsan... I need really a restroom 😂😂

Yeah travel can be quite stressful for the body, mind, and your sleep cycle. Hope you found that restroom buddy and I hope you enjoy your trip!

enjoy your holiday. I hope the trip goes well for you and you come back eager to hit the trails again. ;-)

take it easy when the running monkey appears!

Good luck on your business trip and management training. I'm waiting for your coming back to workout.

We all have dreams.
But in order to make dreams come into reality,
it takes an awful lot of determination, dedication,
self-discipline, and effort.
Jesse Owens


Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 14!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88