Improvising a Running Plan for the race...

in #running6 years ago

I didn't tell you yet but I have a competitive 10K race this Sunday and possibly the following Sunday as well...

It is a pity because I couldn't train as I would like to do it during the last three weeks so, I am arriving to this competition somehow feeling strong but with not so much volume in my legs, I mean, the number of Km a week is not as high as I would like in order to do a good chrono...
Below is a comparison of the Km done a week during the last 4 weeks and the same bar chart for the same period of time but last year.

As you can see, currently I am not reaching even 40 Km a week. Last year same time I used to keep a volume of more than 50 km and so, my times on 10K were "dancing" around 35' and 36'.

How I am going to face this week:

Well, I am self-aware I am not going to do by best time ever on next race, since I couldn't do a proper training cycle so, anyway, I am going to plan a "Hard" week from Monday to Thursday and I will stop doing any activity totally from Friday till Sunday's Race Time.

Week Plan:

  • Monday: 36' of Aerobical Run, Dynamic Stretching and Progressive sprints (100m in length)
  • Tuesday: 14x400 r75" Target Time: 1'20"
  • Wednesday: Recovery Run + Cold Bath for the legs
  • Thursday: 6X800 r75"Target Time 2'45"
  • Friday: Total Rest
  • Saturday: 20' Jog + 5 Progressive Sprints
  • Sunday: Race

    (Target time?)


Soft Monday:

Work done as I wrote before in the week plan.

As a Summary of the running session today:

  • 6.4 km of Aerobical run in 36' ( average pace of 5'36"/km)
  • Average Heart Beat Frequency: 122 bpm
  • Maximum Heart Beat Frequency: 158 bpm during last progressive sprint
  • Total Length run: 7.88Km
  • Total time including stretching: 65’

Remember, if you want to see more details you can always check my activity:

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2611969170


Breathe, Run, Dream, Live...

Keep on running!!!

@toofasteddie, proud member and author/promoter of the @runningproject initiative

Sort:  

gL in ur race!

Hey @toofasteddie really interested to see how your week works out for you going into the race. I feel like I am in a similar place, I have a good base and endurance but I feel my speed is really not close to where it should be.
Good luck and let us know how you go.
Regards @run.vince.run

Thanks dude! Well, will see how I manage...seems that the weather conditions are not going to be good as well...anyway, I will do my best 😉

Cheering for you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44