Run Journal # 4 - April 20, 2018

in #running6 years ago (edited)

pencil-3326180_1280.jpg

Latest Run (Week 1, Day 5)

Today's run was so much more fun. (In my previous post, I had mentioned that I didn't feel good about my run yesterday.) I tried to pace my intervals as I had planned. I started slow on my first 5-minute jog. By the time I got to the 3rd interval (the last interval), I felt I still have some gas left on my tank and so I decided to put on the "after burners" and tried a faster run. It was certainly exhilarating to complete the program without feeling too tired.

The interval times recorded for the day were also the best for the week. I'm hoping this is an indication that my body is getting acclimatized to the new lifestyle, and not just a one-off thing. If I can accomplish another run with the same feeling as today, I'll consider increasing the difficulty level of my run soon.


  • Fastest 5-minute jogs: 12:24 min/mi on the 3rd set (best so far, hooray!)
  • Slowest 5-minute jogs: 14:22 min/mi on the 2nd set

  • Fastest 5-minute walks: 19:22 min/mi on the 3rd set
  • Slowest 5-minute walks: 20:10 min/mi on the 1st set

Here's a recap of my running so far this week:

Week 1

Training Program: 3 sets of 5-minute walks, followed by 5-minute slow jogs.
(Disclaimer: I am not following any expert recommended training plan here. I just want to gauge my tolerance level and get into the groove of this lifestyle again.)

WeekDayDateDistance (mi)Duration (min)Pace (min/mi)Calories (cal)
154/202.3640:0116:59231
44/192.1040:0219:06206
34/18Did not run
24/172.9356:3019:19278
14/162.2143:4619:50210


From the table, it is clear that Day 5 was my best run so far, not in terms of distance but in terms of pace. I'm still doing interval walk-and-run training, so the walks slow down the overall pace. But that's fine. In any case, if this is anything to go by, I'm glad of the progress made. Again, I'm hoping this is not a one-off thing. As much as I want to hit the trail again, I'll be having a busy weekend (not work related), so no runs on Saturday and Sunday this week for me. My next run will be on Monday and I hope the 2 day rest won't set me back from this progress.

That's all for now. I wish you all a good weekend everyone! It's fun to be running again.

Running Journal Overview: This is a run series journal that I aim to update regularly. My objective for posting is to give myself a check and hopefully implant the discipline of being consistent with my fitness plan into my system. I invite everyone who comes across this journal to also adopt a healthier lifestyle and be more active and fit. Your fitness goals may not be the same as mine, but let's try to achieve our goals together.

Picture courtesy of Pixabay

Sort:  

Yey, we have a new Running Author of the Week!!!

Look who won... who is Running Author of the Week 12!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Congratulations @technerd888! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75