First Marathon

in #running6 years ago

It was August 2015 when I decided that I wanted to run my first marathon.
I needed a new challenge, pushing myself outside my comfort zone once more.
28/5/2018 - Goal accomplished
EMF2015_Marathon_Route_Map.gif


My chemical engineering degree was going well and I had plenty of spare time to train properly. But when I look back now, what did I actually learn from this achievement?

  1. Anything is possible.
    The biggest constraint in our development or performance is our own imagination. I grew up as a sprinter, running short distances in youth athletic competitions up until the age of 18. Then I tore my ACL and after a knee surgery, I accepted that my sports days were pretty much over. Thankfully, a few years later my persistence on running long distances proved me wrong. I wasn't the same anymore, but I've transformed into a different type of runner.
  2. A plan is half of the success.
    I was never a fan of marathons. However, with the help of a training plan, I managed to pull it off, self-coaching and tracking my progress along the way. Being consistent in this healthy habit was mandatory to stick to my initial target.
  3. Sheer willpower is the other secret half.
    Finding a cause to run, changed my perception. All of a sudden, I was paying attention to how well I rested and how I let my body recover after long runs. Nutrition and even breathing had to change as a result of my training. I was finally treating myself as my home, caring for every little detail that could influence my well being, both physically and mentally.
  4. Balance is the key
    There were times that I wasn't feeling ready to run and I had to be flexible with my schedule. But I wasn't planning on giving up. The same is true with my every day life. It's not always great, but it flows like a river, and it changes all the time.
  5. Happiness is primarily internal.
    The satisfaction of crossing the finish line, knowing that my efforts were linked to a good cause for donation, was unparalleled. I was tired and at the same time proud of my run around Edinburgh.

I made a promise to run official long distance events every time I move to a new city. In this way, I appreciate nature and discover new paths that are hidden from our modern civilisations.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46