Running Journal #5: Goodbye Mr Blue Sky

in #running6 years ago (edited)

After missing several running sessions due to a relapse of my ever-hurting back muscle, it was down to business again today at just before 6am.

c0thcokjxw.jpg

But what was this? Grey skies overhead and even some drizzle. We are in the middle of arguably the hottest summer EVER in England and I am expected to run in the wet stuff?

@bingbabe insists that it’s actually more comfortable to run in the rain than in the melting sun and after experiencing this, I will say she has a point.

After days of not running, the running dread factor had returned.

‘If you don’t run often enough then this happens’, she explains to me.

bvdwztlso2.jpg

Source

I glanced down at Mr Belly and saw no difference today. No expansion, but certainly no signs of retreat either. Alright this is NOT my belly, more like David Dire’s belly, but looking at it keeps me motivated to keep planting those feet one in front of another.

As a side-effect of the rain, @bingbabe loaned me this rain resistant device that attaches to me arm so I can still record my times; handy.

mg8npugo2p.jpg

I will say that ‘rain running’ is actually not bad at all. The sweat from your forehead does tend to mingle with the rainwater and sting your eyes sooner than on a clear day though.

We took a route where I spotted the sheep’ balls 11 days ago and I am pleased to say there was a marked improvement in my time of over 3 minutes.

Its still hard as hell, I keep burping all through the run (is the normal?) and @bingbabe is still persuading me to buy some ‘proper’ running shoes. Will they propel me to Mo Farrow standard I wonder?

46xa4sghg7.jpg

This dog of mine really takes the piss too. He walks faster than I can jog and seems to grin when strolling past me; that’s just not fair I say.

Ill leave you with a little clip that is living proof that if you play Darts, then the belly will come sooner or later. If you’re under 40 then you probably will have never seen this before.

anysnvpzqb.png

cm4hw0p4va.png

y5btll4npd.png


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I love running when is soft raining...better than running on a windy day, for sure.

I am pleased to say there was a marked improvement in my time of over 3 minutes.

Well done @slobberchops. i agree with Bingbabe, getting some proper running shoes is a good idea. It will probably help your back.

i really injured my back when I had a brief periodof running with poor shoes. 😢

Yes, I will get some, there's a superstore nearby and I have a 10% voucher. Ill have to bring her along as I don't know whats good or not.

Might be worth doing a bit of online research as to what they should feel like @slobberchops, before you go. 😁

I wish I could get back to running. Got plantar fasciitis in both feet from when I last went running a month ago :(

I have this rain resistant device to track me running.
Watch.jpg

Let me know when your ready again, though I'm trying to push my times and our runs were more 'a leisurely stroll' :)

Great job! Keep it up! You are an inspiration :) I used to love watching darts on cable TV. The announcers get so into it and so excited. It is like watching a goal score in soccer with every single throw.

That guy with the long hair in the sketch reminds me of someone of police academy or the guy from litte Britain. Keep up running, rain in fact even motivates me more, don't know why

Good for you - keep at it! I used to enjoy running in the rain, except one torrential downpour when I was running near Loch Lomond and nearly fell in because the water was lapping onto the road! The hot chocolate after was nice though. Wait till winter comes and try running on snow...
And proper running shoes are a must if you don't want to wreck your knees :) Get them from a good running store which will check whether you over-prenate or under-prenate and match the shoes accordingly. Yes, it's technical stuff and they should know what they're doing!

*Don't listen to your mind: open your heart and run for sensations.
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

I prefer running in rain over running in this summer's heat, my body just can't handle these temperatures.

It's true that light rain is far better than hot and sunny. I got up quite late these past couple days and skipped my own morning runs because the heat excuse. Seeing others here on steemit getting in their runs really works in a motivating way!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67103.13
ETH 2617.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69