3 Weeks till 26.2 miles

in #running5 years ago


So with 3 weeks to till Manchester Marathon I wanted to get a 30k run in this week but it didn’t happen! I was going to do 2 runs in 1 day to get the mileage but that didn’t happen either. The weather has been awful here in England with really strong winds and I just couldn’t bring myself to go out in it. I’m a bit of a wimp when it comes to bad weather. On Wednesday I go to a yoga class but I had a bit of spare time between work and the class so I managed a quick session on an exercise bike in the gym before doing the tough yoga class.

1AC3AF21-FE35-499F-A045-B1DD778D9966.jpeg

On Thursday I decided I needed to run as this wasn’t doing my training any good but the weather was still rough so I decided to attempt the treadmill. I’ve only ever managed to run 5k on one before as I find it so much harder running on them to road running. I wanted to attempt more so I set it to 10k. Not worrying about pace I started to run, it was tough to start with then I settled into a pace and managed to complete it. So proud of myself. I watch Netflix on my phone whilst running to try and take my mind of how hard it is.

AE30C71E-C3A7-45B9-884C-AE7373085154.png

I also did 10 minutes on an exercise bike to warm up and 10 minutes on the rower to finish off.

21BA08D8-8161-4B09-8F3C-A78D10125C25.jpeg

Friday I thought I’d rest asi was determined to have a good running weekend.

Saturday is always parkrun day and I was running my 99th parkrun. I can’t believe I’ve done that many! I wanted to get some miles in so I ran to my local parkrun, this was 6km. Obviously parkrun is 5km then I did a slightly longer route home of 7km. This all added up to 18km. The weather was still really windy so it was tough going but I really enjoyed it, it was great to be back outside running.

FFFE7C55-F11B-4BA1-85FA-8D1893289CDE.jpeg

It was a bit of a risk running that distance on Saturday as I had a 10km race on Sunday but I thought it would be good to run on tired legs ready for the marathon as my legs are going to be severely tired on that day.

The race went well, the weather was cold and still very windy especially as we were running round an old airbase so it was very open to the elements. It was a struggle running against the wind and as it was 2 laps I knew what to expect the 2nd time round which isn’t always a good thing! The good thing about the course was that it was completely flat which I loved. I didn’t do my best time but pretty happy with what I ran.

A4B267E3-A54C-4814-8A3C-5BA9AAE8FD2F.jpeg

E1936272-32D0-441F-8653-7511113DA25F.jpeg

Best of all I received my medal

2FD6358B-9792-4520-B1C8-5CEF1E69DC44.jpeg

So next week will be the last week for long runs, I’m hoping to get at least a 30km run in on Wednesday,maybe about a 20km run on Saturday and hopefully another shorter run some other time in the week. I should be doing my yoga class too and a session in the gym. Let’s hope it all goes to plan.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

99 parkruns is so impressive! And congrats on a good 10K. :)

Thank you, I’m so excited to be doing my 100th on Saturday, I still can’t believe it myself that I’ve done that many!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good luck on the marathon! You'll do great - trust the process!

Congratulations @shazza! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67130.22
ETH 3466.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73