My 1st 2018 Outside Run (#runningproject and #runforsteem)

in #running6 years ago

I love the running community that's starting to grow here at Steemit. And more specifically, I love the #runforsteem challenge created and curated by @jumowa as well as the Steem @runningproject.

I sort of lied about my title. It's not my first outside run of 2018 (I had one or two previously) but it's my first recorded outside run of 2018. I've been sticking to the gym treadmill for my cardio for the last few months. I don't know how common this is, but I love running in warm/hot weather. If it's below 70, I'm not really interested in running outside. Today it was over 90 degrees in Los Angeles and my run started at 11:45am, so it was a warm one!

This photo is not in chronological order of my run, but it's by far my favorite as a thumbnail for this post. This is the view from the top of Runyon Canyon, a popular Hollywood park for hiking and dog walking.

IMG_7807.JPG

I live about 1.5 miles away from here, so it's a nice warmup jog for the steep climb in the park. But there are tons of stops and starts in this warmup because I'm in the heart of Hollywood. I actually run past Hollywood and Highland, home to the Chinese Theater and Dolby Theater that hosts the Oscars every year.

IMG_7809.JPG

After dodging tourists all along Hollywood Blvd, my route becomes much more residential until I reach the entrance to Runyon Canyon.

IMG_7808.JPG

According to my Nike Plus app, my elevation climb in the run is roughly 850 feet which is a nice little workout for the legs. I've already shown you the top of Runyon Canyon, but of course I had to use the timer and take a photo of myself. And yes, it was incredibly hot by this point!

IMG_7806.JPG

Here's my info for the run. Clearly the 2nd mile is the full climb up the canyon. A 21 minute split will completely kill any respectable time but this is a path I love to take. I think tomorrow I'll do a more flat, city run with what should be a much better time!
IMG_7810.PNG
IMG_7811.PNG

With warm weather back, I plan to be much more active in the running community here. Keep up the great work! It's very inspiring to see!

schmidthappens_red.png

Sort:  

Nice picks man. Keep moving it will keep you young...at least that's what someone told me once.

Wow, 5 miles in this hot weather and hilly terrain is not bad at all! I just returned from a jog myself now, did 20 laps at a stadium here in the town, which is pretty much 5 miles too. I havent heard of these running challenges on Steemit, thanks for telling us! I need to check it out, I love running.

The running community on Steemit looks like a fun group. It's nice to have the inspiration and camaraderie to get out and run. And it's something different to post about! I look forward to seeing some from you!

I stopped running due to injuries right after I moved out here. I used to run in Florida and it was easy because it was flat lol. I walk my runs out here but the scenery is beautiful. I wonder if I'm healed enough to start again?

It's always worth a try. Start slow and see how you feel. Injuring yourself again would be bad, but it would be great if it turns out you can run!

It will be a real challenge. I accidentally got old during my time off lol. My last run was running across the golden gate bridge. I was in a ton of pain but I really wanted to do it.

Good for you! I’m a walker, but have not done enough of it recently!There are no hills in Florida to make my walks challenging, but plenty In Scotland to challenge me when I go back every year!

Scotland sounds like a great place for a long walk!

Oh, It definitely is, and there are so many trails along cliffs and up and down hills! It is never boring!!

I'd love to walk that sometime, but my running days are way behind me.

There's a main paved trail that's a great walk to get a wonderful view of the city. You should definitely try it sometime!

Sounds like a great day trip for this summer.

Welcome to the club!! I have really enjoyed engaging with all of the runners here on Steemit. It's given me great motivation to keep pushing harder in my own training. Happy to have another person to get inspiration from! :)

Thanks! I love all of the sub-communities here on Steemit. There really is something for everyone. Like you, I plan on using the running community here as inspiration to keep it up and train harder!

Thank you for mentioning @runningproject!!! Welcome :)

Welcome to RunForSteem and thank you for the support 🌝

You're very welcome. And thank you for creating RunForSteem. It's a great addition to Steemit!

I really don't like running much over 70 degrees here in Florida I think maybe the difference is the humidity.

Do you want me to resteem your blog post to over 32,800 followers and many viewers to get more upvotes? For more info. go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48