How to tap into flow state when you run

in #running7 years ago (edited)

[Run&Meditate Day 16] Feb 1st, 2018: What a day to run

bloodmoon.jpg

Photo by Jake Hills from Unsplash

Last night I saw this with my mom. It was magical. We talked about why the color of the light is red, and how amazing and beautiful it was. I wish I took the photo, but my iPhone didn't do the justice, so I found a good one at Unsplash.

I had a lot of energy in me today.
For breakfast, I had three eggs and vegetables, and a bread filled with pecan crumbs and steamed red bean.

breakfast.jpg

I didn't run at all yesterday, because I felt like I was overtraining. I didn't have that energy in me. (Looking back my spreadsheet, I ran 9 days straight before yesterday, so it is kinda understandable why I felt that way)

So, at about 4:30PM, after long day of problem solving, I went to the gym, and I was ready.

I started at 8km/h, slowly warming up. I increased the speed to 10km/h when that felt too slow. And when I felt I warmed up properly, at about 6min, I decided to have some fun. I decided to increase 0.1km/h every minute, and see how that turns out.

At about 14km/h, I had to stop increasing every minute, because my body was not adapting to speed fast enough. So I took some minutes, and then increased again, when I felt my body got used to the speed.

I was at about 7km, and I thought to myself, 'Let's run 10km.' At the end, I got into flow, that I increased speed to 17km/h. It felt great, and after I run at that speed for about 2min, I hit 10km.

I felt very ecstatic and free during today's run. I never felt this kind of running high while running on a treadmill. I learned that I can induce this flow even when running on the treadmill by focusing on the form, speed, and measuring herat rate (the old way, by putting my fingers on my neck, and counting, while eyes looking at treadmill clock for 10 seconds and multiplying by 6).

The author of famous book Flow, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, says that when a person is engaging in a task that is not too difficult nor easy, with a goal and focus in mind, flow, deeply immersive experience, occurs. Running is such a wonderful thing where runners at every level can tap into this state of flow, by running at a speed that is not too difficult nor comfortable for themselves.

Best way I've found to tap into flow state when I run, is to start very slow, and increase speed little by little, only when I feel my body is comfortable at the current speed. Like I did today on the treadmill. And, actually, that's what Kenyans do when they go for EVERY run. Even for easy run, they start at laughingly slow speed, to warm their bodies up properly, which shocked me. One time I ran with women who won Tokyo, Seoul, Boston, etc., and they started their easy run at a speed that I could keep up by just walking fast. When 'running' or hopping this slow, they check their body and check their form, breathing, and muscles of their body. They are great at not forcing it. They take their time. They play the long game.

I hope you try this next time you go out for a run, or run on the treadmill :)


Daily Running: Day 19

(Fifty runs till may #19)

10km.jpg
Today's running...

Running details

  • Distance: 10km
  • Where: Indoor (company gym)
  • Time: 46 min
  • Speed Range: 8~17km/h
  • Run type: Progresive (Increased 0.1km/h per minute from 10km/h... another progressive run.. That was a lot of fun..! Ended the run at 17km/h.)
  • Incline: 1%

Strength&Flexibility

  • Pull-ups: 3 sets of 6. Wide grip. Focusing on using just back and the core
  • Bench-press: 10kg each x 10, 12.5kg each x 10, 15kg each x 5, 17.5kg each x 3. Focused on the form, firing with elbows and utilizing as much core muscles as possible

Today was probably the longest I ran on a treadmill this year, and it was not boring at all. I am happy I am having fun with treadmill, b/c it is helping me to run consistently and stay healthy and fit.

What about you? Which do you enjoy more, Running outside vs. Running on treadmil? Do you find running on a treadmill boring?

Daily Meditation: Day 21


  • Total Time: 15 minutes
    Meditated after dinner at the office. Realized I got a serious look on my face; so I relaxed my eyes, in-between eyes area (what do you call this area?, let my lips loosen up. That was a good 15 minutes :)

Happy running and meditating!

Sung, a running turtle



Little background on why I run and meditate



Why running?

I got hooked to running in 2013. Running barefoot on grass, slowly, I learned how to be one with the movement. I loved running so much that I wanted to see how world's best runners live and train. So I went to Iten, Kenya in the summer of 2015. I read an ebook with a Korean content start-up called PUBLY about my 5 weeks in Iten). I want to share my experience with people who speak English as well, so I have started translating the prologue chapter. I hope to share my story with you soon. Until then, please check out some of the videos I took in Kenya. You will especially love this video of 10km race in Iten, which I filmed myself on the back of a motorbike. In my channel, there are many exercise and stretching videos that you will find beneficial as well. Follow me for more updates :)


Why meditating?

I did a 10-day Vipassana meditation retreat in 2011. There, I experienced a center of peace within myself. However, college, grad school, and real world slowly took me away from the practice. I am giving myself some social accountability by committing myself to meditate 15min before going to bed and upload a post about it on Steemit, along with my running post. I chose to do 15 minutes because it does not feel too long nor insignificant. It feels very manageable, but at the same time long enough to induce me some equanimity and mindfulness.

Please leave comments for what you think and if you have any questions on running or meditation. Thanks!

#fiftyrunstillmay
#runningturtle
#running
#meditation
#runnmeditate

Sort:  

The day has only 23 hours and not 24, do you know why? Because one hour is booked always for running.
@runningproject quote

Resteemed by @runningproject

STAY TUNED WITH @runningproject , something good is coming!

There is so much WOW in this post! I've found that it takes ~7km of running for me to get runner's high. Usually it requires a hard effort (up a trail) and then reduced effort (reaching the peak and heading downhill). I've also found that I can help with music. Certain songs trigger it. I won't suggest any because I think it's specific to each person. For me, it's songs I've run to that also have a beat that helps me get there.

This probably is an obvious question but your story makes me ask... have you read Born to Run?

Hey @dlew, thank you for stopping by and leaving a generous comment!
I never run with music, but I can see how that can trigger some flow or meditative state. I usually enjoy getting lost in the noise of the city or subtle sounds of the trail.

I am happy you asked me the question, because Born to Run inspired me to give running a fresh look. I played soccer all my life, but never really looked at running as a sport or as something I would pursue, train to get better at, or enjoy. Running was more of a means to become more fit, a homework to play better soccer. But reading Born to Run gave me a new perspective that running can be fun, and that running can be a lot more than fitness or health. I ran barefoot on grass for the first time after reading the book, and absolutely loved that experience. That experience hooked me to running, and I have been running ever since (since 2013 fall).

And I got into running so much and wanted to learn from the best. So I went to Kenya in the summer of 2015. I lived with a 2:15 marathon runner and we ran, ate, and lived together. It was a magical 5 weeks. I cherish a lot of good memories and there are so many things I've learned. I can't wait to go back there in 2019, when my military duty ends.

I love talking about running and myself... let me ask you a few questions and get to know you. How was reading Born to Run for you? How does running attract you to it?

That sounds like an incredible experience! I started running late in life and went couch to 50K in about a year. Going straight to endurance meant that I didn’t develop speed so I doubt I could keep up with your friend for more than 5 meters.

I need to write my introduction post (once I get a proof-of-life photo) that will give more details. I started running at the same time as you. I had tried a few times before but it never stuck. I hated it. In fact, it was purely accidental that I became a runner. I decided to get into shape and running was something I could do. I hated every step for 3 solid months. A friend recommended BtR so I read it and loved it.

One morning I decided to try a trail I had heard about. People joke about it in LA. I struggled on the hill. When I was ready to turn around I thought “what would the Tarahumara do?” I smiled, started running and have t stopped.

As for music, I listen to music sometimes but often listen to nature or the city around me. Lately I’ve been listening to keto or running science podcasts. I’ve never had patience for podcasts and find ones that are rich in information are interesting. We'll see how long that lasts.

"When I was ready to turn around I thought “what would the Tarahumara do?” I smiled, started running and have t stopped."

That really resonated with me! I actually had similar experience in Kenya. I was running with really fast Kenyan women (well, national marathon team runners), and I almost gave up during their 'easy run.' But they were giving me support and I asked myself, "Hack, I came all the way here just to run. What else will I do?" and I kept running, haha.

I am excited to read your introduction post. I also need to write a proper introduction post, because one I wrote I put a wrong tag and I also did not do a good job of highlighting what I will be writing about.

I also love just listening to nature and the city around me. Sounds like we could be great running buddies! If you visit Korea any time, we should go for a run together!

If you want some good podcast and interested in business, productivity, and great stories of awesome people, I recommend Tim Ferris show. Please let me know what you think when you check it out!

Exactly! On where runs I feel like stopping I tell myself “you can sit the rest of the day.” 🏃🏼‍♂️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65