Last Minute Change

in #running6 years ago

Last night saw the start of this year's Mota-vation Series; monthly 4-ish mile races around Oxfordshire.

I was a bit tight from my 800m race the day before but was just going to see what I could do.

Unfortunately a car accident on the course meant organisers had to delay the start and the make a last minute revision to the course.

It meant instead of being just a touch over 4 miles, we'd be racing over 5.2 miles. Not quite what my tired legs were after!

Screenshot_20180427-221937.jpg

They shouted at me almost the whole way round so much that my legs just couldn't drive as hard as I was hoping - my heart rate was around 10bpm lower than normal for that type of race.

Fortunately an experienced club mate who was marshalling reminded me with just under a mile to go to push and hurt all the way to the finish.

I overtook 4 people almost straight away and I was surprised how much I could find.

Screenshot_20180427-222022.jpg

It ended up as my fastest run over that distance so got to be happy with that!

Sort:  

Wow! Good register! You didn't run at 100% since you did another race the day before so, congratulations!

Surprised I was able to get the pace I did. My glutes were so achey!

Yey, we have a new Running Author of the Week!!!

Look who won... who is Running Author of the Week 13!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Good on you!@

There is always more in the tank than you think. That last bit of the race is always a mental challenge.

Well done on pushing tired legs to further than they had signed up for. i'm sure they are paying you back - in stiffness, today hehe

Yep, working hard to squeeze more out for longer. Trying to be less conservative!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98