Winter Running And One Legged Squats

in #running6 years ago

runninghamliton.jpeg
A pic of me on Hamilton Island, just over 12 months ago

In my part of the world winter is technically over and even though there is still some colder weather and a lot of rain to get through, but summer is definitely on the way. You may not have heard much from me lately, but I've been working hard putting out a daily post covering each stage result of the Vuelta a Espana, so if your interested, my latest post can be found at the following location:
https://steemit.com/cyclefeed/@run.vince.run/2018-vuelta-a-espana-stage-9

Yep, so back to running, and I've been working hard and with my 4 Marathons and 4 months behind me, I have been enjoying my training, building base and endurance as well as trying my best to improve my bike speed.

So this is my update for my last month(August) of training.

What Have I Been Focusing On
This is a little difficult to say at the moment, because the quick answer is: I am working on improving my swimming, biking and running.

  • Swimming: Working to improve strength and technique while not reducing my endurance
  • Biking: Been working hard with a new plan focusing on high intensity work to improve my speed as well as build endurance
  • Running: Trying to prepare myself for my Ultra marathon in October.

Improving My 1 Legged Squat


Something that has been constantly going through my head for a while and that's "Am I strong enough, and will being stronger help me with my racing?". So I've been adding in some basic body weight exercises to improve my strength, but I felt like I needed to take this one step further...This is where the one legged squat came in.

Over the past two weeks I have been adding these into my routine and have finally been able to do between 1 and 2 on a single leg, in a row. I know this is not very impressive but when I first started doing them, I was struggling to do one rep. So I guess, time will tell if there is any method to my madness,

The following is a breakdown from Strava on my July training with a total: 544.0km Run/Swam/Biked for the month

trainingAug.png
If you would like to see my training or follow me on Strava, please see the link below:
https://www.strava.com/athletes/1778778

Upcoming Races
My girlfriend and I are planning on being in Hawkes Bay to cheer on friends doing the IronMaori Triathlon 70.3. We've decided to enter a team with a friend and I'll be taking on the bike leg, which will be an awesome test of the work I am doing with my riding.

  • Toupo Ultramarathon(50km) - October 2018
  • IronMaori Triathlon 70.3(Bike Leg) - December 2018
  • IronMan NZ - March 2019

How The Month Went


Weekends have been really nice in Auckland and have not been raining too much, which has meant its been great to get out and ride, run, hike but I'm still swimming indoors. I've had some big weekends where I've been working on my Ultra Marathon Familiarisation while trying to improve my bike power and speed.

Interested In Fitness And Steem


If you want to get involved in the Steem communities that are helping people earn Steem by keeping fit and active, here is a list of the groups I know of:

  • The Running Project - Approved running authors get upvoted by a growing community of like minded users. To join the fun see the channel: https://steemit.com/@runningproject
  • Fitnation With Run Burgundy - A newer channel to get you more active, you don't just have to be a runner, for more information check the daily posts at: https://steemit.com/@runburgundy

My latest post for the @runningproject is all about "Improving Run Efficiency", so feel free to look it up below:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/improving-running-efficiency-with-the-runningproject

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming @run.vince.run

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by run.vince.run from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Nice job kicking butt on your training! One-Legged squats are no joke. They are still quite challenging to me, as well. Not only with strength but also because of my limited hip flexibility. They definitely translate to running and biking strength and stabilization for sure. Any single leg work is great to throw in to your routine. :)

Yeah, I feel like a one legged squat is a "one rep max" body weight exercise, so its a good challenge and hopefully will pay off for my longer racing.

Nice job dude! Big fan of the one-legged squats.. I feel like there really helped me make my knees and hips a bit stronger (not to mention the benefits with some of my cross training and climbing)!

Yeah, my knees could do with some strengthening. Struggle with the balance of doing them as well...Hopefully that is an added bonus.
Regards @run.vince.run

That photograph on Hamilton Island is awesome! You have inspiring goals and accomplishments!

Well done. Those one legged squats are hard man ;-)

Best of luck to Taupo. I was going to sign up for it, but my body is just hammered at the moment. I need to fix my IT band and my foot - my whole right side actually.

So I'll give it a miss this year. (I'm still going to do something crazy later on though ;-) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36