Why I Run

in #running6 years ago

36430456462_1cabb57ef8_z.jpg

It's been almost 20 years since I first started to run. As I look back, it's interesting to see how my motivation and reason to run has changed over the years.

I came to running later in life. I was always active as a kid and played a lot of sport, but running was something that only came around once in a while. I was good at it but never got the chance to really run, so when I got the chance later in life, I found it came naturally, and I loved it.

When I first started running, I loved to race. I got a buzz out of being able to compete against other runners and race for my personal bests. The races I ran were in my hometown, usually only 4 or 5 kilometers long, but I loved the fast pace and the thrill of the chase. I had no idea about training and improving my skills which was clear when I tried to run further or faster.

As I moved into adulthood I ran to escape a toxic situation. I was in a relationship that left me anxious, low in confidence and with little self esteem. Running became my escape. There was little time for me to run, so I would use it as a way to get to work and home again. I would sneak in a quick run when ever I could, almost as a guilty pleasure, never wanting anyone to know how much I enjoyed what seemed like a holiday from the real world.

When I left that situation, running then allowed me to see the world. I was no longer limited by time, so I ran as much as I could. I entered marathons and ran distances that I never thought I was capable of. I travelled for races and met people with a similar mindset to me and who enjoyed the same things as me. I learnt that running would let you see things that you would otherwise miss. I could run through the city while it was still asleep, I could climb hills which would take me above the clouds, and I would see the sun rise more times in a month than someone would see in their lifetime.

Life still isn't perfect but at least I’ve learnt not to deny myself of something that is so positive, and I look forward to see what else running will bring me in this life.

Sort:  

Your post is full of so much YES!

Hey @dlew thanks so much, yeah there seems to be a growing number of health and fitness posts which is awesome.

And welcome to Steemit and our new and growing running community. Join us at @runningproject.

The real purpose isn’t to win a race. It’s to test the limits of the human heart.
Unknown Runner

Resteemed by @runningproject

Hi @run.vince.run !!!!
Welcome to steemit and @runningproject !
You are more than qualified to be an "approved" Runner of @runningproject !
Now is your turn! Transfer 1 SDB or 1 STEEM as "enrollment" fee to @runningproject and you'l' be list as a member of our initiative.

Hey @runningproject
Thanks so much for your reply. There is a slight delay in transferring the 1SDB over and I am a little embarrassed about it as well. I will keep working on it though and let me know if this becomes an issue from your side.
Regards @run.vince.run

Hey @runningproject
Thanks so much for your patience. I have just transferred 1SDB over to @runningproject with the note as "enrollment". Please let me know if there are any issues and glad to be part of the group.
Regards @run.vince.run

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85