In The Running ABC's, Q is for...

in #running6 years ago

20x30-CMDB1741.jpeg
The image above is me running my first Half Ironman in 2014 in Melbourne Australia

Q is for Quotes

For the past 17 days we have been going through every letter of the alphabet, bringing you a new subject related to running that starts with that specific letter. Today, we have the letter Q and I thought it would be great to look at Quotes, specifically motivational quotes that can be related to running.

Ok, you probably think I am taking the easy way out with post quotes for the letter Q in our Running ABC's. If you have a better suggestion for the letter Q, I would love to hear it and would be happy to take it on. I just hope it goes a little better than my "Jokes and Junk Miles" post for the letter J.

So here we have my top 20 inspirational running quotes which are in no specific order, except for number 20. I am not sure why it an effect on me, but it’s my favorite:

  1. "If it doesn't challenge you, it won't change you." - Fred DeVito

  2. "The man who moves a mountain begins by carrying away small stones." - Confucius

  3. "A one hour run is 4% of your day. No excuses." - Unknown

  4. "When it’s pouring rain and you’re bowling along through the wet, there’s satisfaction in knowing you’re out there and the others aren’t." - Peter Snell

  5. "Most people run a race to see who is fastest. I run a race to see who has the most guts." - Steve Prefontaine

  6. "Run the first two-thirds of the race with your head and the last third with your heart." - Unknown

  7. “I often hear someone say I’m not a real runner. We are all runners, some just run faster than others. I never met a fake runner." - Bart Yasso

  8. "Do your feet hurt? It’s probably a mix of doing so much running and kicking so much ass! Keep it up!" - Unknown

  9. "Somebody may beat me, but they are going to have to bleed to do it." - Steve Prefontaine

  10. "If you are losing faith in human nature, go out and watch a marathon." - Kathrine Switzer

  11. "If you want to run, run a mile. If you want to experience a different life, run a marathon." - Emil Zatopek

  12. "You can run a spring or you can run a marathon but you can't sprint a marathon." - Ryan Holmes

  13. "We all have dreams, in order to make dreams come into reality, it takes an awful lot of determination, dedication, self-discipline and effort." - Jesse Owens

  14. "I succeed on my own personal, motivation, dedication and commitment. My mistake is, if I'm not out there training...Someone else is." - Lynn Jennings

  15. "You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take." - Wayne Gretzky

  16. "Persistence can change failure into extraordinary achievement." - Matt Biondi

  17. "You have to forget your last marathon before you try another. Your mind can't know what's coming." - Frank Shorter

  18. "The voice inside your head that says you can’t do this is a liar." — Unknown

  19. "Only those who risk going too far, can possibly find out how far one can go." — T.S. Elliot

20. "Our running shoes have magic in them. The power to transform a bad day into a good day; frustration into speed; self-doubt into confidence; chocolate cake into muscle." - Mina Samuels

If you missed any of the previous five posts, you can see them at the following link:
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/for-the-running-abc-s-l-is-for-lactic-acid
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/in-our-running-abc-s-m-is-for-marathon
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/n-is-for-negative-split-in-the-running-abc-s
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/in-our-running-abc-s-o-is-for-overstriding
https://steemit.com/running/@run.vince.run/p-is-for-power-meter-in-our-running-abc-s

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming @run.vince.run

Sort:  

Some excellent quotes in there! I definitely don't think that was taking the easy way out. I'd be hard pressed to pick a favorite!

Some good quotes there! I find them inspiring... especially on those days you don't feel too motivated :-)

Have you come across the @runningproject by the way? Well worth checking out if you haven't!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54