My running week report #23: runs with the new shoes (RunForSteem)

in #running6 years ago (edited)

Here is my weekly running report for last week. As you may know, I received a new pair of shoes. I already did a post about it here.

I did 4 runs this week with different intensity but no specific training. I'm in my exam period at the university so I prefer to run when I want to take some fresh air and I don't often have a lot of time.

First run: slow 10K with the girlfriend

I managed to do a run with my girlfriend this week. It's not easy because she always says that she is too slow and I tell her that it is also good to do slow run. This time I ran to a place alone then we ran 5 km together and I came back home alone. It was a really nice run. I don't remember the last time I ran with someone else and I forgot how it was.
Capture d’écran 2018-06-11 à 18.44.20.png
Capture d’écran 2018-06-11 à 18.44.29.png

Second run: first run with the Nike

On Tuesday I received my new Nike Pegasus 35 so I had to do a run that day. I decided to do a fast 5K and I beat my personal record with 19'28"! If you want to know more about the shoes, I did a section about it below in the post.
Capture d’écran 2018-06-11 à 18.47.43.png
Capture d’écran 2018-06-11 à 18.47.57.png

Third run: a short run in the morning

On Thursday I did an early run. I did not have a lot of time so I just did 30' at a slower pace than the last run. I don't have a lot of things to say. It was just a short run :p
Capture d’écran 2018-06-11 à 18.49.30.png
Capture d’écran 2018-06-11 à 18.49.38.png

Fourth run: a longer run with the Nike

I wanted to do a longer run with the new shoes to see if there are as comfortable as it felt during the short run. So on Sunday (again early in the morning), I did an one hour run with some hills. I did it at a slow pace and I tried to keep my heart rate quite low (140 bpm on average).
Capture d’écran 2018-06-11 à 18.52.54.png
Capture d’écran 2018-06-11 à 18.53.02.png

Total

At the end, it was a great week with almost 3 hours of run. I will try to keep that in the following weeks.
Capture d’écran 2018-06-11 à 19.08.18.png

What about the shoes?

Qmc6ALdguVjtbAkkkx3b4qeDj6PBeBPN5oKgb7FzN8eAzi.jpeg

After almost 25 km with my new pair of shoes, I have a better opinion about it (not the final one of course).

One thing is sure: they are really comfortable. I didn't feel any rubbing during neither of my runs. I just felt a bit of pain at the middle of the long run at the middle of my feet (on the outside of them). The pain was gone for the last part of the run. Maybe my feet have to get used to the shoes. I'll see in the future.

The second thing I can say is that I can't really feel the Zoom Air Unit in the sole. Some reviewers say that you can clearly feel it but not me. So in my opinion, they are not as great as they say because it is a marketing argument that is not there for me. It is also possible that I don't feel it but it helps me anyway.

Last thing, I find them a bit sleepy in the inside so I need to tie them well. But I feel it more when I walk than when I run.

At the end I think that they are great shoes and I'm not disappointed for my first Nike. They are not too expensive (113€ is quite reasonable I think) for a shoe that has the reputation to last well.

Check the Steem Running Project and the RunForSteem Challenge if you are interested in running.

Sort:  

Run when you can, walk if you have to, crawl if you must; just never give up.
Dean Karnazes

*Resteemed by @runningproject

I like your judgement regarding the shoes...
NIKE is indeed a good brand, but their "Marketing" are better than the expected performance of the shoes...
Anyway, I have to recognize that the model PEGASUS are indestructible... my last one pair of PEGASUS (vr 28 I guess) lasted 1600km without apparently or visual degradation.

It was one of the reasons I didn't buy Nike shoes before. I don't fully trust something when they do this much of marketing around it (like the Nike Zoom Fly and Vapor Fly 4%). I have the impression that they hide something. But then I said that it's too bad not to make my own opinion about it.
Yeah, it was one of the reason why I bought this model. It's polyvalent and can endure a lot of kilometers.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by RomainCrx from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48