10K training run W7D3 (fiftyrunstillmay 8/50 & Run for Steem)

in #running7 years ago

10k-6.2miles.jpg

This weekend was the big session for me! After a calm training on Thursday, I had to do my best on 10K to see my improvements.

Strangely and even if it was not a competition, it was a bit stressful. I wanted to do well even tough I didn't have any objective (just to improve myself from my previous 10K, but it I was obvious that it was not a big deal).

So first, I did a warm-up of 15 minutes with some active stretching. Then I just did my 10K as fast as I could and I'm quite proud of me!

I started at my objective pace (objective that I have to do after 12 weeks) of 3'54"/km but I directly felt that it was too fast. For the next kilometers I was quite regular with a pace of 4'03"/km. I began to be slower at kilometer 8 a with a pace of 4'06"/km. I tried to go faster for the last 2 kilometers but I couldn't do it and did the last two at 4'08" and 4'06".

At the end, I did my 10K in 40'27", so at a 4'03"/km pace. Considering that my best was 43'11", I think that's a good improvement. Moreover, I was alone and usually we can go faster in a competition. Secondly, even if it's quite flat, there was 120 meters of positive slope in total. It's not a lot but taking this into account, my pace was 3'57" (according to Strava).

You can see on the screenshot that I did 10K in 40'39" but I did a bit more that 10K. You can see my best time on 10K just below in the best results section.
Capture d’écran 2017-12-11 à 14.05.46.png
Capture d’écran 2017-12-11 à 14.06.03.png

I'm pretty confident about my final objective of 39' now and I'll keep up the training to make sure to be able to do it in 5 weeks!

Sort:  

Ei!!!
well done man! sorry I saw this post too late...
Happy to see your improvement!!! You have good running conditions man, not everybody beats himself by reducing his best Time in 10K by 3'...It is outstanding!!!
It indicates that you are doing the training very well.
Keep on running!

Thank you! Supportive comment like this really motivates me to continue the training!

WOW, you're fast man. I don't think I could keep up with you. Are you training for a particular event of just to stay fit?

Thank you! No I don't train for a particular event. It's just because it's harder to go out to run during winter, so I started this training to motivate me. But that's good because I improve myself in the same time :)
And since I like this kind of training, I'll probably start a training around March for the 20km of Brussels.

Cool, I am looking to do a 20k event as well with a colleague of mine.

That's a really nice experience. I did that race in 2012 and 2013 (but I wasn't training at that time) and all the people (40,000 each year) give you a lot of energy!

I can imagine. I did my first event last year, only 10k and I wasn't as prepared as I'm now. The atmosphere was fantastic and helped me achieve my personal goal.

Thank you for participating in this weeks #runforsteem challenge

wow you did well. That's really fast!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87