Contest Time!! Make Your Best Guess...

in #running6 years ago


Hello there friends!  I have been on Steemit long enough to have joined in on my fair share of challenges and contests, so I figure it is about time I return the favor with a little one of my own.  I have been lucky enough to have found the running community on here through @jumowa’s #runforsteem and being a part of the @runningproject.  All of you who join in regularly have definitely helped keep me motivated as I have been training for my Spring races.  You all may have a slight advantage in this contest, but you also know anything can happen come race day.

The contest?  Quite simple in theory—I’m going to give some prizes for guessing how fast I’m going to run my half marathon next week!  No post to write, just make a stab at my final race time.  If you have been following my running posts, you will probably have a little bit of an idea about what my goals are and possible pace may be.  I’m not going to make it too easy on you by mentioning any pace or times in this post, so you’ll have to go back through my running posts if you want some ideas.  (Hint—I did run a half marathon back at the beginning of March, so that may be a good one to look back for)



In case you are not familiar with the half marathon distance it is 13.1 miles or about 21 kilometers.  Here is the website with course map for the one I am doing: http://www.teardrophalf.com/race-courses.html.  I have never done the course, so you will not be able to look at past results to see how I’ve done in the past. ;)

I’m sticking with typical contest rules:

  • Upvote & Resteem this post
  • Leave a comment on this post with the time you are guessing in hours:minutes:seconds
  • If someone has already picked a time, you are more than welcome to go Price is Right and choose up or down by as little as 1 second
  • Deadline to enter is Friday the 27th of April by midnight ET (Eastern Time)

Anyone can join, so you don’t have to be a part of the running community--though you know you are always welcome!  I’ll do a reminder post the day before the race, but only comments on this initial contest post will count.

Prizes:

  • 3 SBD for the closest to my final chip time
  • 2 SBD for the second closest
  • 1 SBD for the third

Times can be over or under my actual race time.  I’m going by chip time as that will be posted as an official time on the race website.  I leave for vacation the day after the race, so my hope is to share the results before we go. However, if they do not post results that quickly then I may have to wait until coming home.  I love you all, but plan on unplugging during our quick tropical getaway. ;)

Thanks once again for all the support.  I look forward to seeing your guesses and will definitely take you with me in spirit as I hit the course next Saturday!  Let the games begin!

*If you win and would rather donate your prize to a group like @runningproject or any other worthy project you support on Steemit I will gladly transfer the winnings accordingly.

Sort:  

1h56'48" is my guess!!!!
RUN!!!!!!!!

I'm going to do my best to make my favorite running buddies proud! :)

Good luck @plantstoplanks enjoy the race and don't feel any pressure from my prediction of 1:40:21. I have also resteemed...great idea for a contest as well.
Regards @run.vince.run

Thanks Vince! I am going to try to run my hardest, so we'll see what comes of it. :)

Imma shoot conservatively....😊
1:57:41

Nothing wrong with a conservative estimate. :) Thanks!

Welcome! I'd be thrilled with that time. A few years ago i probably could

1:41;42
One hour, forty one minutes with forty one seconds...
That is my calculation...

Thanks for your entry!

I would say around 1:55:00

Thanks for playing along. :)

First of all, have fun ...
... and than run 1:45:39!

Ok, just kidding, have a nice, fast race and reach the time you are dreaming of.

Always a good reminder to enjoy the experience! I will do my very best! :)

Hello Katie, my time for your race is 1:37:52. I hope you go excellent!

Thank you Poly!! :)

this is my guess = 1:37:11
your going to do great whatever time u make!

I appreciate the confidence! Working on my meal plan for next week so I know my nutrition is right on for race day. :)

My guess is 1:42:24 ;) Good luck to all who are going to participate!!

Thanks for joining in @vegan.niinja!! I appreciate the support. :)

How fun! My guess is 1:54:50. Good luck with your race, I hope you'll have a great time.

Woohoo, first entry! Thanks for joining! :)

But of course! I think your last half was one of the first posts I read when I joined steemit last month. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72