Sunday Funday

in #running6 years ago

Sunday Run-day

Been busy moving into my new apartment, so I've been seriously slacking. Now that I'm in a new neighborhood, I'll be upping my mileage as I explore the city! I ended this week at 40 miles running, and ~70 on my feet (the 'on my feet' miles included walking during lunch, walking to/from work, etc.)

Screen Shot 2018-06-03 at 6.51.00 PM.png

On my run, I got really excited when I thought of the idea of making shirts that say 'Sunday Runday' and was convinced it was the best idea ever... and then I googled it and saw millions of those shirts online. So, back to the drawing boards!

I went grocery shopping today and stocked up on all healthy foods, and am going to start meal prepping for the week. That should save me some time throughout the day, where I can hopefully extend my runs a little. The issue with significantly increasing your mileage is that there's only so much time in the week.

There are 168 hours in the week. The healthy person should spend 56 of those hours sleeping, which leaves you with 112 waking hours. Working 9 hours a day, 5 days a week, leaves you with 67 hours. This week I ran for a total of 5 hours 11 minutes- which is about 7.5% of my 'free-time'

A 2014 study had the average finish time for males in a 100 mile race as 28:08:04 (they also had only 66% of starters finishing). 28 hours is 16.7% of your weekly total hours, which is 42% of my 'free-time'.

So... looks like I need to really increase the length of my runs!

Have a great week, and keep running!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @philruns! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93